It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of The Dove Restaurant, Harleston

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Andrea Fitzgerald on 1st April, 2010

Add your review
I have eaten at The Dove in the past and enjoyed the food very much. On this occasion, however, I was in for a special treat: I had successfully bid for a cookery lesson with the chef and owner, Robert Oberhoffer, in a silent auction for a breast cancer charity. Robert could easily have just donated vouchers for a meal at his restaurant but instead he prefers to give up his time and offer cookery lessons. This, to my mind, demonstrates not only his generosity, but his passion for creating delicious meals, using quality produce and his desire to share his passion and teach cookery skills to others. (He also gives cookery lessons to local schoolchildren.) The lesson was tailored to meet my needs and wishes. I now feel more confident in cooking game - the dishes of pigeon breast and partridge were deliciously flavoured. I learnt how to make basic stocks and was given tips on adding flavour to vegetables and cooking a perfect piece of meat to ensure it is moist and tender. My two hour lesson became three, without any clock watching on Robert's part. He answered my endless questions unreservedly, with much patience. Thank you Robert for an enjoyable and valuable experience. We shall certainly be back to sample your fare in the near future.

Date visited: 16th March 2010

Review by The Harpers on 23rd July, 2009

Add your review
We booked to stay at the B&B for a wedding. Both the hospitality and the accomodation were excellent, the breakfast and the evening meal were outstanding. Couldn't rate highly enough, we both enjoyed our stay immensely!

Date visited: 10th-12th July

Review by Kirsty Reeve on 19th July, 2009

Add your review
As soon as we walked into the restaurant we could feel the good vibes. We had drinks on the terrace overlooking the leafy gardens. Seated in the dinning room we were served our starter, which was the closest thing to heaven I have ever eaten. I thought things couldn't get much better then came the main course,then the dessert. We would definatley recommend the Dove, the atmosphere and the hospitality was the best we had experienced in a long time and I can't rate the food high enough. Hats off to the Chef and the staff who do such a good job!

Date visited: 18th July 2009

Review by Caroline on 6th July, 2009

Add your review
I was really surprised to read Sheila's review. I eat there regularly and have taken scores of people there and recommended it widely. We've never, ever, ever had a poor meal. We all rave about the place; the food is always excellent and served with courtesy and efficiency. In my opinion The Dove serves the best food in this part of the county. I agree with the other reviewer that if Sheila had raised the matter at the time, then the restaurant would have endeavoured to sort it out. And by the way, the Sunday menu is outstanding value. I cannot think where else you would eat food of this quality for this price. Try it yourself. You won't be disappointed.

Date visited: Monthly

Review by NCD on 16th May, 2008

Add your review
Sheila, I think you've missed the point somewhat! I believe the supplement reflects the high cost of good quality beef, not because you asked for it to be cooked a particular way. I have always found the food (and service)to be of a very high standard at The Dove. I have never had cause to complain, yet I'm sure that if I did have a problem I would say so at the time and the staff would soon put it right for me.

Date visited: regularly!

Review by sheila ubhi on 5th April, 2008

Add your review
sunday lunch was a big disappointment. 1.95 extra for either well done or rare meat is a confounded cheek. the starter of cheese and mushroom roulade was good ,and so was the meat.the vegetables were bland and unseasoned ..the gravy was the same for both pork and lamb,and insipid.

Date visited: 30 march 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I am prepared to meet my Maker. Whether my Maker is prepared for the great ordeal of meeting me is another matter. - Winston Churchill
More Quotes

On this day:
Accord of Winchester - 1072, Evacuation of Dunkirk begins - 1940, Britainís Worst Road Accident - 1975
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages