It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Rocksbys Restaurant, Southsea

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Peter Kemp on 13th February, 2015

Add your review
Best value for food for money paid my wife & I have enjoyed in a long time. We shall certainly go there again.

Date visited: 23�12014

Review by Claudine on 3rd September, 2010

Add your review
Excellent restaurant, would highly reccomend!

Review by Geoff Theakston on 3rd January, 2010

Add your review
Four of us, seasoned eaters-out, had a great meal at Rocksbys and were impressed by the quality of the food and the care taken by the staff. We'll certainly go again.

Date visited: Mid September

Review by sue wall on 14th April, 2009

Add your review
as stated above I visit frequently and find this Restaurant absolutely top class Staff friendly and food good also I often take my 3 yr old Grand daughter with me and there is no problem I shall be visiting again this week and I am looking forward to it

Date visited: frequently

Review by david + maureen on 28th February, 2007

Add your review
I DONT KNOW WHAT THE PREVIOUS WOMAN WAS ON ABOUT BUT WE HAVE BEEN GOING THERE FOR TEN YEARS NOW AND NEVER HAVE WE COME ACROSS ANYTHING LIKE THAT. THE STAFF ARE THE FRIENDLIEST WE KNOW. WE ALSO KNOW THAT ON SUNDAYS THEY ARE ALWAYS FULL AND IT IS DIFFICULT TO GET A TABLE. ONE OF THE REASONS WE DO GO THERE IS THAT THEY DONT HAVE HIGH CHAIRS. IF I WANT TO SIT IN A RESTAURANT FULL OF KIDS THEN I WOULD GO TO A BURGER "JOINT". AS FOR THE LAST STATEMENT ABOUT THE BACON SANDWICH, I DONT KNOW WHERE HER COLLEGUE WENT BUT WE KNOW FOR A FACT THAT THE STAFF DONT START WORK TILL 9.30 AND THEY DONT OPEN TILL 10.OO!!!! SO MAYBE YOU'LL TAKE THAT PERSONS COMMENT WITH A PINCH OF SALT. ALSO, WHY DOES THIS PERSON FEEL IT IMPORTANT TO STATE THAT SHE IS THE WIFE OF A nAVAL OFFICER"? IS THAT TO MAKE HER FEEL MORE IMPORTANT? BY THE WAY IM MARRIED TO A RETIRED MEMBER OF PARLIMENT, SO DOES THAT MAKE ME MORE OR LESS IMPORTANT????

Date visited: nov 2006

Review by DEE on 8th December, 2006

Add your review
Both my husband and I have had our 60th birthday parties there which included a buffet and disco. The food was excellent and plenty of it, and the disco was run by Steve Kingsley who played a good selection of music. The staff were all extremely helpful and the atmosphere was great. All our friends said what a good do it was - so much so that we are having our Office Christmas meal there.

Date visited: 26.1.2006

Review by Joann Robertson on 16th October, 2006

Add your review
I am the mother of two well behaved toddlers aged 1.5 and 2.5 and following a fabulous walk on Southsea sea front on Sunday we spotted Rocksbys advertising Sunday lunches. My husband and I thought we would take advantage of what promised to be some home cooked lunches in a local restaurant before heading home. Upon entering the premises it became apparent that they did not cater for children as when I asked the sullen man behind the counter for high chairs he stated they did not have them. He carried on moving cutlery around and did not meet my eye. At this point I explaine dthat we would like a table for two adults and two children for Sunday lunch to which he replied that they had no room, although it was very clear that seating was not an issue. When I asked if we could sit on one of the empty tables he stated that sitting children in the isle we had identified we would be creating a fire hazard. My husband is a naval officer and I am a resource manager heavily invloved in H&S and neither of us could beleive his comments. It was at this point that the hostile welcome partnered with the rude and offensive attitude of the man that my husband and I decided to leave and spend our money elsewhere. I advised the man that I found his attitude unaccpetable and that I had never encountered such blatant rudeness to which he just carried on shuffling his cutlery and shrugged. In a nutshell this is no restaurant that I would ever recommend children or not as attitude and service play a key part in any dining experience and the welcoming atmosphere of the Florence Arms and the wonderful food more than made up for this blot on our sea front which I dread to see presented to our tourists. Telling colleagues at work about my experience it appears that this (joint) has a reputation for slovenly attitudes with a colleague recently stopping off for the advertisied coffee and bacon sandwich at 9.00 am to fidn himself presneted with a soggy undercooked sandwhich which he complaine dabout to be asked what do you expect for 2, needless to say he left in disgust.

Date visited: 15/10/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Patriotism is the willingness to kill and be killed for trivial reasons - Bertrand Russell
More Quotes

On this day:
The Hundred Years War begins - 1337, Ashmolean Museum Opens - 1683, Westminster Bridge Opens - 1862
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages