Waterford

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Waterford Arms, Whitley Bay

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Rosalind Clark on 26th October, 2010

Add your review
Very comfortable and homely bed and breakfast, amazingly good value, and probably one of the best cooked breakfasts I can remember having. Very comfy beds, and friendly staff, will be visiting again on my next trip North!

Date visited: 24-26th October 2010

Review by Graeme Herrington on 1st September, 2009

Add your review
I took 5 friends to the Waterford Arms for lunch and 2 had not been before. We travelled up from Hatfield in Hertfordshire on a day ticket with National Express East Coast (long way to go for fish and chips but worth it). Shopping in Newcastle then lunch. Most of us knew the size of the portions so we ordered accordingly. A great meal was had by all and we will be back again before the end of the year.

Date visited: 23rd April 2009

Review by Laura on 22nd June, 2009

Add your review
I dont know what the below is talking about our family went to the waterford arms for my dads birthday and it was the perfect evening. I even had the pate as a starter and i thought it was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpfull even though it was very busy. (As it always is on a weekend) I had a steak for my main and it was cooked to perfection. The salad on my pate was fresh nothing wrong. There was 15 of us and not one of us had any complaints. I hope no one is put of by the belows comments because the food there is beautiful freshly cooked wonderful service 10/10!

Date visited: 24th may

Review by Fred Collier on 1st March, 2009

Add your review
This place may be OK for fish and chips during the day but we will NEVER go there agin after our evening experience there. When we arrived we were ignored for several minutes. then when a waitress arrived she asked he colleague "where shall I stick them?". Our order was taken with no attempt at rapport. I ordered pate and my wife garlic mushrooms. when they arrived I've never seen presentation like it. On my plate was a handfull of soaking wet lettuce,a sliver of cucumber, bit of tomato and a lump of lemon that looked like it was hacked off with a cleaver; oh and a small, thin slice of shop bought pate. There was a small bread roll which when I cut into it was raw dough in the middle. I called the waitress who took my plate away without any comment. Several minutes later she brought it back and apologised for the roll saying the chef had put another one in and it would be a few minutes. I asked for toast instead she was not happy. She went away and I heard her say "he wants to know if he can have toast". More minutes went by and she came out with the toast. as she was walking past our table she plonked the plate down, without braking stride, looking at us or speaking to us and walked straight past the table. During all this time my wife ate here half dozen mushrooms bt left most of her wet lettuce. The watresses attitude throughout ranged from disinterest to downright rudeness. the starters were appalling. I cancelled our main courses, paid for the starters (i never touched mine) told them their service was diabolical and we left. We will never ever go back there again. The new owners need to sort out their staff and the quality of at least their starters. Don't know about main courses and never will. The worst dining experience ever bar none

Date visited: 28/2/09

Review by john collins on 9th November, 2008

Add your review
I'm a Yank who lived in Morpeth for 3 years. On our firsy visit, my wife and I, on recommedation from some friends visited the pub on a typical cloudy/sunny/windy/rainy day. Of course, we had to order the fish and chips, with MUSHY peas. We were asked if we wanted the "special", regular or large sized fish. My wife, always looking for a bargain, chose the specail. I was starving and was still used to U.S. super sized everything, so ordered the large portion. I was shocked when a waitress, a waiter, and the owner were summoned to carry that whale of a fish from the kitchen to the dining room. They opened the window on the sea side, pulled up a flatbed lorry and backed that baby in......what a feast! It was and continues to be the best fish and chips I have ever had. And our time in the Northeast was of the happiest of our lives. Thank you Waterford Arms....we will never forget you! John Collins, former resident of Morpeth

Date visited: 5 visits 2003-2005

Review by Paul Hollyer on 20th October, 2007

Add your review
Best fish and chips I've had for years! Great value, friendly staff and amazing value for money. HIGHLY recommended!!

Date visited: 17/10/07

Review by sherrie hardy on 19th September, 2007

Add your review
We visit this pub regularly to eat. It is reasonably priced. The food is fresh and of top quality and the staff are friendly. Whenever we have friends to stay, we take them to the Waterford to eat. Best fish and chips in the area. I would reccommend this pub to anyone.

Date visited: 08.09.07.

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I think I am a child. Everything blows my mind. - Marc Bolan
More Quotes

On this day:
Original Globe Theatre Burns Down - 1613, Battle of Cropredy Bridge - 1644, 1st Edition of the Daily Telegraph - 1855, Sons and Lovers Published - 1913, First British Credit Card Launched - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages