It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Gin Trap Inn, Ringstead

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by stuart k dunning on 14th July, 2010

Add your review
A most enjoyable visit. Having a warm atmosphere, the inn is unspoilt but with a modern restaurant extension and cloakrooms. There is secure space for bicycles - cyclists are welcome. Bar-tender - Ben is courteous. The menu is wide and frequently changed; Chef is attentive and will prepare 'speciality' meals to order. My bedroom was fine, and well-serviced .Patron is good to talk with: Cindy, his 'better half', is a delightful hostess .

Date visited: late june 01

Review by alan on 9th September, 2008

Add your review
Visited this pub just for a lunchtime drink whilst passing. It seems that they must be making plenty on their drinks as it cost 8.90 for a pint of adnams and a large whiskey. My wife and myself were so irate at this rip off we declined to have the lunch we that we had intended to. It seems to me that this Gin trap might be getting to big for its BOOTH'S.

Date visited: 4/09/2008

Review by Jim Lassen on 7th June, 2008

Add your review
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Gin Trap pub on the evening of Saturday, 2nd of Feb 2008. Four of us adults and two five year olds were staying in a rented house nearby for that rather cold and very wet weekend and we decided to visit the pub for dinner. We got there at 8:15 and it was just about full up. While we were waiting to be served, we took numerous photos of each other and the kids were playing around a bit but nobody seemed to mind. When the food turned up, we couldn't believe the size and layout of the portions. They were huge, looked very appealing and tasted great. When we left, the chef was sitting at a nearby table and I had to compliment him on the food. When I went back there the next morning to pick up the car, I also saw him and repeated my comments. We had our lunch at the Hoste Arms at Burnham Market some seven hours before but, in my opinion, the great down to earth pub food at the Gin Trap was more my style and the staff were very pleasant. The only criticism was that we had to wait about 40 minutes to be served but, to be fair, they were very busy that night. If you come across this pub and look through the front window, you wouldn't think they did food because you can't see the restaurant area, only the bar. We took a chance, went in and it was certainly worthwhile! Jim Lassen (Piddington, near High Wycombe, Bucks)

Date visited: 02/02/08

Review by Tom and Sally on 2nd June, 2008

Add your review
This was our fourth visit, the first some time ago, before the 'new' owners took over and this put us off. We then passed by and tried it again and were really surprised - great new areas - new staff and really wonderful food. Then went back on a Sunday and had a 'Sunday lunch' again really good. And third time on the 30th where we tried the burgers and vegetarian meals and they were larger than average portions and cooked soooo well. And the restaurant area seems to lend itself to conversation and cameraderie - led by the owners... We will return!!! And all that for 20 a head including drinks....

Date visited: 30th May 2008

Review by mary shaw on 13th January, 2008

Add your review
Having previously had 2 super lunches in the summer I was invited to a retirement lunch party with about 17 ex colleagues & felt it was a super choice of venue. Staff were smashing, as usual, but food was nowhere near the standard we had as individual diners (however I paid, for my mediocre meal, the same as we had paid in the summer). My turkey tasted medicated & I wondered if it was cut from a catering roll & the roast potatoes were too tough to cut. Coffee came B4 sweets & we were over 3 hrs as sweets & mains were so delayed. The back room we were stuffed into was awful. I wrote to the proprietors & said my views were shared by others & suggested groups may not be their forte if they wished to keep their reputation...I have had no reply. A colleague sent me a Christmas card saying "awful food".

Date visited: 3rd Dec 07

Review by Gus & Bob on 30th June, 2007

Add your review
Haven't been to The Gin Trap for a while and was very impressed with the changes. The New dining area and toilets were great. We had a really good meal and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere in the pub was much better than before, added to which they are now dog friendly which was a bonus ! Can't recommend the place enough

Date visited: 14th June

Review by David Darson on 4th May, 2007

Add your review
I have visted the pub many times before the change over, and found the food fantastic, with great ales and a really nice relaxing atomosphere. I have since been again, and found the pub has lost some of it's charm and attention to detail. the food is still ok, but i think the new ower's should take a leaf out of the old ower's book, that won them the best pub in england. it now dosn't meet the same standards, i wish the new ower's well and hope they can get close to the pub of old.

Date visited: Mid March

Review by Bshley Bennet on 19th April, 2007

Add your review
Been a couple of times in the past, was fantastic.Very polite and fun staff, light atmosphere, and amazing food. Was told Gordon Ramsey had eaten there a few times. Been since it has changed hands and the clientel seems to have changed and the place not so clean as before. Still good food, just very different and not as tidy.

Date visited: 13/01/2007

Review by josh dane on 7th March, 2007

Add your review
This pub has recently changed hands. Food very, very good as was the service. The Adnams bitter was particularly fine

Date visited: 22/2/07

Review by josh dane on 6th March, 2007

Add your review
This pub has recently been taken over and now has a really nice friendly atmosphere. The food was very, very good as was the service. Thoroughly recommended

Date visited: 22/2/07

Review by Fenwick on 18th August, 2005

Add your review
Lovely Pub visited many times before. Booked to take my two children last Thursday. My son had the Lamb @ 16.00, he got 4 very small pieces of meat, 2 carrots and some mash. In my opinion a vastly overpriced main course , which I conveyed to the waiter but this was ignored. Very dissapointed.

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Science is but an image of the truth. - Sir Francis Bacon
More Quotes

On this day:
The English Restoration - Charles II lands on British Soil - 1660, HMS Pinafore Opens - 1878, Celtic win the European Cup - 1967, Tubular Bells released - 1973, Star Wars Opens - 1977, HMS Coventry Sunk - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages