It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Recruiting Sergeant, Horstead

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Ffred Johnson on 12th November, 2010

Add your review
After a previously enjoyable visit, we booked again for a family reunion. This was unfortunately spoiled on almost every level. On arrival the bar staff seemed incapable of even the most basic of tasks. After pulling two cloudy and sour pints it became obvious that the bar staff hadn't the first clue about the most basic of their duties. On being shown to our tables the comedy value increased as it was impossible for even the youngest members of the party to read the menu. A procesion of members of our party trailing up to the bar to use the stronger lighting on our menus brought many "we just did that" comments from other customers. Then things started to go downhill. Although quite busy and on a Sunday evening, two parties containing babies managed o completely overwhelm any atmosphere. The costant wailing and screaming of these children was completely ignored by their parents. The staff did attempt to stay this intrusion but to no avail. When the food finally arrived the oversize portions impressed, but was not unfortunately matched in quality. Overall the evening was judged to be a disaster and promises of meeting up soon were countered by further promises of "Yes, but not here"

Date visited: October 2010

Review by Caroline Kett on 5th December, 2008

Add your review
Just had our school christmas meal and it was a disaster. My advice would be to avoid this shambles of a place firstly I was served bacon and Im vegetarian and if this wasn't enough after changing the dead meat on my plate for a veggy option they then decided to drop a bottlea of wine and glass which then broke into my food. To make matters worse they did not even appologise. Finally we were served the main and this surely did dissapoint as it was so salty and thus practically in edible. Pubs and restaurants shut every day for reasons out of their control but I would gladly see this one perish as it does deserve our custom. Recruiting Seargent: Shape up or ship out.

Date visited: 5-12-08

Review by debs on 17th November, 2008

Add your review
We dont care about big portions but we do mind about the quality. This is simply poor. Big, but poor. We wont return because there is no soul and no culture of quality

Date visited: 11.11.08

Review by Bill Hailstones Ayr on 12th December, 2007

Add your review
Excellent Food. Friendly ambiance with friendly efficient staff. A" must" to visit if you appreciate fine food at reasonable cost. Drive past and you are doing yourself a great dis-service

Date visited: 2007

Review by Karen Wallace on 25th March, 2007

Add your review
After waiting for ages to try the food here, we finally made a reservation. As expected, it was packed; all the tables were busy and it was quite noisy. We were given ample time to read the extensive menu, we didn't feel rushed at all and the staff were helpful. The menu covered most angles from locally reared meat, seafood from North Norfolk and fish from Lowestoft. The food didn't disappoint. The portions were more than generous; I had Crispy Duck with Watercress Salad and my partner had homemade Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper Soup. We followed with Battered Skate Wing and Thai Style Roasted Sea Bass. They were both enormous portions which was a little daunting and slightly off-putting to be truthful. We didn't really need the starters but whats the point of going out for an evening if you only have one course and its all over in 45 minutes? However, it was delicious. The staff were very attentive and apologetic after a family-from-hell were seated next to us,and, after complaining about their noise and bad language, they moved us to another table. I would recommend The Recruiting Sergeant but only if you have the appetite of a horse!

Date visited: 24/03/07

Review by mike jackson on 12th August, 2005

Add your review
excellent service from all the staff and the meal was superb.

Date visited: 10/8/05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
There are only four people who knew what the Beatles were about anyway. - Paul McCartney
More Quotes

On this day:
Anne Boleyn Beheaded - 1536, Cromwell Declares England a Commonwealth - 1649, Kew Gardens Opens - 1759, Lawrence of Arabia dies - 1935, Speaker Announces Resignation - 2009
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages