It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Yaxham Mill, Yaxham

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by r goodson on 26th December, 2010

Add your review
Manors dont cost anything is not the case for yaxham mill!We pre-booked a meal for seven people and a toddler on boxing day one of the group had special dietry requirements and had arranged a meal three weeks prior to the event.When seated staff were confused over the dietry meal,when speaking to the chef (who was aware that part of the dietry requirement was no meat) then offered palma ham as a option.The starters arrivived and looked good only the bread rolls were not served neither was the special starter.When we asked where it was the managress took offence stormed off came back with the dish, slammed it on the table and walked off with out saying a word. When we tried gaining her attention to comment about her rudeness we were ignored with this we all decided to leave.When we informed her of this she said she didnt care, i informed her i had expierience in the proffesion and this kind of service was not good enough and before i could finish once again was told "i dont care" we even tried paying for the starters we had recieved and were told to just go away on departing i commented to a member of staff that it was a descrace and they should sack her and was told she was the owner of the establishment with this kind of rude incompetent service i really can't see how this place is still open!

Date visited: 26/12/10

Review by Diane Jones on 22nd September, 2009

Add your review
Arrived on spec warm welcome from the staff on duty was shown to a lovely room which was clean and well appointed managed to get a table in the busy restuarant where the food and service was outstanding lovely breakfast on our departure will definatley return highly recommend you visit this friendly rural pub/resturant/inn.

Date visited: 4th sept 09

Review by Ray Smith on 18th September, 2009

Add your review
Idyllic charm in the Norfolk countryside Charming converted mill providing accommodation and restuarant facilities situated on a quiet B-road about 2 miles from Dereham town centre. Double en-suite room was cosy and functional, containing all expected facilities. The evening meal (prior booking highly recommended) was the highlight of the stay. Refer to web site www.yaxhammill.com for sample menu. Friendly, courteous staff serving food of the highest quality in a timely fashion (1 hrs from taking order to finishing a three couse meal). Breakfast was more than adequate, although only served between 0800-0900hrs. Ensure that you pick up a hotel tariff brochure when checking in since this is the only place where meal times are specified!

Date visited: 02/09/09

Review by R Smith on 8th September, 2009

Add your review
Great Place This was an extremely nice place to stay with very friendly staff,lovely rooms and very clean . All very tastefully done. Will recommend this to friends. The breakfast was lovely and could not wish for more. Will return in the future. Good for visiting National Trust properties from this location.

Date visited: August 2009

Review by j holmes on 24th August, 2009

Add your review
Very dissapionted with the room. it was certanly nothing like the ones they show and discribe on the website as genorous size,comfortable,updated or with flat screen tv. unfortunatly ours was crammed with dated furnishings, old portable tv with dead remote, bathroom door lock not working,paper thin walls so could here noisy bathroom fan in next room or stentch of muck spreading on sournding fields( not there fault, of course but they must be aware of this problem.) Poor pre cooked breakfast in the shabby pub. wont be returning or recomending!

Date visited: 22 8 09

Review by G. Lowthian on 13th March, 2008

Add your review
Happened across Yaxham Mill by chance for an overnight stay. Really characterful place with old windmill, bar and restaurant. Completely different experience to the others and found the staff more than helpful and the food excellent! I guess there are two sides to every story! Room was surprisngly modern with flatscreen TV, etc - mine was at the foot of the windmill and importantly, very clean with a great shower. Menu has a good variety of traditional 'inn' style meals as well as some more modern options. Atmosphere was relaxed and informal, helped by the selection of real ales! Will definitely return and recommend to friends/family.

Date visited: 12 March 2008

Review by Pardon on 3rd December, 2007

Add your review
Excellent food but very disappointed with the attitude of the said manageress who at the end of our visit to the restaurant became extremely verbally abusive and demanded we leave the restaurant otherwise she would call the police. Story: We arrived at the restaurant to celebrate the birthday of a relative. There were nine of us in the party (aged 50 - 60 years) and we sat down to pre-dinner drinks. When ordering these drinks the manageress started to serve one pint when the telephone rang and she answered the phone, at the same time as trying to serve. After a few seconds she wondered off with the telephone leaving us in limbo. We therefore had to request another bar person to finish our order. We then sat down to select our meals from the menu. On a previous visit to the restaurant it was noted prawn cocktail was not on the menu and subsequently after a conversation with the chef, it was agreed that this could be supplied if requested on any further visits. Hence the reservation of our table at this particular restaurant. The manageress came to our table to take our order and this was mentioned to her. Her reply was abrupt and she said she knew nothing of this and would check. She came back and grudgingly took our orders, including the prawn cocktails. We then had our meal and drinks were purchased for the non-drivers. The meal was enjoyable although there was a question mark as to whether one of the starters of duck was actually duck. Upon completion of our meal we continued to sit at the table chatting and drinking. At approximately 11.15pm one of our guests went to the bar to request a pint of beer and a bacardi but there was no one at the bar. Another customer told us they served drinks upto midnight and volunteered to fetch a member of staff from the kitchen. The manageress appeared and took the order. She proceeded to pull the pint and only half filled the glass. Our guest gave her the money in payment and she suddenly flared up and adamantly refused to serve any more drinks. Our guest said he had paid for the drink and so could she please fill the glass, which she did. Upon returning to the table he informed us of what had taken place. Another guest then went to the bar to ask if the manageress had a restaurant licence. The manageress subsequently flew into a rage and asked him to f...... pay the bill and get out. He replied he had paid the bill and was going to finish his pint. She then became extremly verbally abusive and said to f...... get out or she would call the police. We told her to call the police which she did. We hadn't done anything wrong and when questioned about this she absolutely flipped her lid and continued swearing profusely telling us to leave her "front room" and not come back. We were absolutely astounded by this show of complete unprofessionalism. We wanted to wait for the arrival of the police to sort the situation out but then a further member of staff (male) arrived and asked us all to leave. We did this and upon our departure from the car park, two police cars arrived. On Monday 3rd December we reported this incident to the polic and Breckland District Council, Licencing Office and are awaiting their investigation reports. We feel a full apology is in order. This is our side of the story and await to hear what the manageress has to say about her displicable behaviour to her customers and her reasons for asking us to leave.

Date visited: 1st December 2007

Review by hargreaves on 28th October, 2007

Add your review
This story really begins nearly a year ago, soon after the present proprietors took over. We called into the establishment to have a drink and look over the menu for a booking in the near future. The menu was fine and we noted that there were some themed evenings including a Pie and ale night which included a pint of beer included in in the meal deal. Now my wife and I being Pie lovers but not beer drinkers asked if we booked this meal, could we have a glass of wine in place of beer. There was an emphatic NO to the suggestion. Therefor losing our patronage before it ever began. Just recently, a couple of friends asked if we would like to accompany them for a meal at the Mill, so we thought why not(big mistake). We arrived put our bar drinks on the bill, sat down, chose from the menu, ordered our meals and wine. We were called through shortly afterwards and our starters arrived(so far so good). There were side plates and butter on the table but no bread or rolls supplied or offered. When we queried this when the plates were collected, they were then offered, but we declined as we felt it too late(next mistake). There was a pause of 40 minutes before the main courses arrived. Veg was brought and the waitress reminded that I had ordered chips with my meal. My wifes meal was Tuna Steak(advertised as served pink) and my wife asked to make sure that this dish was to be seared and served pink in the middle. It had arrived cooked rather solidly all through and leathery(difficult to do with fish), it was also lacking the red onion that was on the menu with it, as was the salad garnish. We asked the young man to ask the chef if he/she thought that the Tuna was pink and the message sent back was that was how it should be cooked. By now we were on the third bottle of wine because of the delay in serving the main course. The young man who had taken our order had always been apologetic and polite, but when we were going to pay our bill and still complaining(my chips had arrived near the completion of my main course) about the food, the proprietess(I think) interjected in an aggressive manner and our male companion told her that he did not like her attitude and that we were not going to be dismissed as though we were insinificant little people. In fairness, the Tuna had been already taken off the bill, so a little grovelling from this lady may have been in order. Instead and in anger, this lady said suddenly, forget the bill and go and do not come back again! So instead of making a profit, made a loss. It was not our intention that this should happen, nor were we attempting not to pay our bill. Perhaps at this point I should make clear that I am a retired Hotelier, and have an understanding of the problems that can occur in this sort of business, but I also know that the customer is king and you can not survive without the customer. I gained no satisfaction in having the bill waived and I do not think the person who gave the slow handclap of good riddance helped the situation either.

Date visited: 25 October 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The land of my fathers. My fathers can have it. - Dylan Thomas
More Quotes

On this day:
The Seven Years' War Starts - 1756, W.G. Grace Scores his Hundredth Hundred - 1895, Relief of Mafeking - 1900
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages