It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Tipputs Inn, Nailsworth

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Rebecca Hill on 4th July, 2012

Add your review
We have been to The Tipputs on many occasions and I just would like to recommend it to anyody. The Indian food is home cooked and tastes absolutely wonderful like with the rest of the food on the menu. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the service is excellent too. If I was to give it a score out of 10 i would defintely give it a 10 out of 10.

Date visited: July 2012

Review by King on 30th December, 2010

Add your review
One of a party of 13, how lucky is that?. Lunch was booked for 2pm, the place was far from full, food arrived at 3.45. Nuff said

Date visited: 29/12/2010

Review by Stuart Carter on 12th July, 2010

Add your review
I was invited by my nephews and nieces for a belated 60th birthday party sunday lunch and like your last reviewer (4 July) was apprehensive after reading the reviews. I have to say that I could not fault the place. The food was excellent, the service attentive and at just the right pace. I would definitely reccommend Tipputs Inn to antbody.

Date visited: 11 July 2010

Review by Sharon & Paul on 6th July, 2010

Add your review
Having read some of the reviews for Tipputs we were slightly apprehensive, but needed somewhere to eat mid afternoon on a Sunday when most places would have finished serving food, and Tipputs was on our way home. The staff were very friendly, the food was very good (not cheap but worth it) and the service was excellent. We were very glad to find somewhere which served a full restaurant style menu throughout the day. I would definitely recommend it.

Date visited: 4th July 2010

Review by Thomas and Caroline on 14th June, 2010

Add your review
During a wonderful 4 day break in Nailsworth, we stopped for lunch at this place, tempted by the menu while ordering drinks at the bar. It was fairly quiet when we arrived but became very busy after we ordered. The staff were friendly enough to begin with, but when several items were missing from my wife's order they became disinterested and reacted as if we were causing trouble, displaying their annoyance to fellow diners and regulars in the hope we would not complain further. My parents in law ate alone as their orders took so long to arrive, our bill was incorrect and I was told that I should check my maths when I questioned the bill with them. The total was incorrect but I was offered no apology. The food is tarted up, gimmicky pub grub, and not good value. The tables were sticky . Our cutlery was not spotless. The reluctance of the staff to show any courtesy and professionalism when dealing with customers problems is laughable. Staffed by children and led by sarcastic, indifferent management. In an age of recession, the team at Tipputs Inn behave in such an arrogant and rude way, one would think that they were the only restaurant in the south west. Why cant they get it right? Do not be fooled by the friendly first impressions.

Date visited: June 2010

Review by Chris on 15th March, 2010

Add your review
My boyfriend and I visited Tipputs for saturday lunch. The pub was busy and we were looking forward to a nice meal. We ordered garlic bread for starters which was dry and not very tasty and for our main course i ordered ravioli with a crab paste filling and my boyfriend ordered a chicken and bacon carbonara. I received my main course which was only 4 pieces of ravioli in a tomatoe sauce. The food was only luke warm but because it took so long to be made i was too hungry to send it back. The ravioli was really tough and because it was so cold it was terrible. My boyfriend's pasta dish had approx 5 pieces of bacon and a couple of pieces of chicken which was also hidden under luke warm pasta. We were really disappointed with the meals which were considerably over priced for the small portions of food which were very poor quality. There is no excuse for cold food and especially no excuse for too little ingedients and poor portion sizes. We do eat out alot and i can quite honestly say this is one of the worst meals i have ever had.

Date visited: Saturday 13 March 2010

Review by Susan Quest on 11th December, 2009

Add your review
After much debate, our small office party decided on Tipputs Inn for our Christmas get together, and we could not have chosen a worse venue if we'd tried. Some of our colleagues previously reported mixed reviews of this place and we should have heeded the advice. Smart Alec staff, who at first seemed friendly and helpful, but when several things went wrong they became indifferent and nonchalant, and were very slow to correct the orders. Three of us ate alone while others in our party had already finished their meals. A complaint heard often before. Sour looks across the bar from the staff just added to the misery of dining at Tipputs Inn. We left feeling cheated and poorly attended to. The food is not good value or even good quality, and the rudeness of the staff when challenged was just unbelievable. Glorified, tarted up, fast food, - cooked by kids, and served up by rude sarcastic staff, with a poor unprofessional attitude. 0 out of 10. A very poorly run chain of restaurants and a real let down for the area. Tourist junk food for those that know no better.

Date visited: November 2009

Review by sandra sheppard on 20th September, 2009

Add your review
Our family of 5 visited Tipputs Inn for a lunch time meal yesterday and we were all very impressed with the service, food and very helpful staff. Our group included a 2 year old toddler Callum ,who was extremly happy to be addressed personally when the gentleman waiter/bar person took his pudding order.Thank you for your patience and understanding. The gentleman in question even offered to wash our own plate and cutlery which we had taken for Callum. Many thanks to you all for such a happy visit.

Date visited: saturday sept 19th 2009

Review by Del on 31st August, 2009

Add your review
We have used Tipputs & others in the group several times. However booking my husband's birthday meal there, for the family proved to be a big mistake! Drinks in the bar took an age, we had to request menus, our order was finally taken but the food took ages to arrive & when it did one steak was not cooked as requested & had to be returned."Medium" cooked seemed beyond the chef's capacity. We were charged for an item we did not receive & had to walk to the carpark before the revised bill appeared. In all badly managed & inept service certainly not value for money,which spoilt what should have been an enjoyable family occasion.

Date visited: 29th August 2009.

Review by Brendan et Caroline on 6th June, 2009

Add your review
Staff indifferent to customers needs and requests. Business must be so good that they do not need to care. Tourist junk.

Date visited: May 2009

Review by Tim Adlam on 21st January, 2009

Add your review
I used to stop frequently at this pub for several years on my way to and from a job in Gloucester. I found it to be quiet, friendly, and with good simple food served. The beer was interesting too. It's a good stop on the Bath / Gloucester route if you don't want to go on the motorway.

Date visited: 1999 - 2005

Review by Roger & Wendy on 1st October, 2008

Add your review
We stopped here for lunch with the In-laws,- on our way to the theatre in Bath. What a complete disappointment. Clumsy, inefficient, and forgetful staff, mediocre food, and unjustifiably over-priced. A real let down for the Cotswolds.

Date visited: September 2008

Review by Peter Whear on 27th July, 2008

Add your review
Very poor food that was grossly overpriced

Date visited: 25th July 2008

Review by derek wilcox on 15th July, 2008

Add your review
This was the second time we visited- our youngest daugther's 26th. birthday- the first being our second daughter's birthday in May. On both occasions I was very impressed by the quality and presentation of the menu. The staff were courteous, efficient and generally made you feel welcome. Getting a first drink was a little slow, but what the hell- we had a great time on both visits! Will definitely be back!!

Date visited: 09/07/08

Review by Alice on 14th July, 2008

Add your review
Lovely venue, relaxed surroundings, however do not ever dare to complain, I did, very politely and quietly, and the senior serving staff and one of the managers turned very sarcastic, unreasonably defensive, loud, rather nasty and naff, all in front of fellow customers. The food is just about acceptable, but let down by poor management and service. We have had some enjoyable meals here, but the lack of professionalism and the way in which Tipputs treat their customers is an utter disgrace to the restaurant industry. Waiting staff tell their customers that their chef cooks to his own specification and not to the customers. Many of our friends have dined here on separate occasions, and all have left dissatisfied. A tourist haunt, diners and locals beware. Alice Whitehouse-Parr.

Date visited: June 08

Review by Andrew Anderson on 17th May, 2008

Add your review
Highly recommended, the staff were courteous, welcoming and efficient, the environment was calm and relaxed, the food was excellent, our compliments to the management and chef. We will certainly be going again, and will recommend it to all our friends. Well done.

Date visited: 16/05/08

Review by John Dunn on 6th February, 2008

Add your review
really gone down hill, bad menu, over-rated, won't be returning

Date visited: August 2007

Review by Michelle Vernon on 14th August, 2006

Add your review
Have been here once before and loved it. Husband surprised me with an anniversary meal here on the 31st July to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We ate in the restaurant part of and had a wonderful evening. The decor is great, the tables beautifully laid and the staff were very attentive. It was mid week so was very quiet (only one other table) but we did not feel like the staff were hanging over us. The food was fantastic and they make a great pimms. Highly recommend this place. Mum is down on the weekend and I can't wait to take here. We are emigrating to Australia so it is going to be our goodbye meal and I can't think of a better place to have it.

Date visited: 31.07.2006

Review by Louise on 12th January, 2006

Add your review
Great place to go for a good meal out. Impressive interior, matched by the food and the staff. Would expect to pay more for food of this high quality, but it is very well priced-especially with the vouchers or a food club card. Spud and Chris are doing a great job up there-keep it up!

Date visited: All the time!

Review by Jasmine on 13th June, 2005

Add your review
This is my favorite restauarant in the area. The food is always sublime and the staff are great. The prices are reasonable, and i would heartly recommend anyone to go here

Date visited: March 2005

Review by Peter Davison on 3rd June, 2005

Add your review
Lovely location, friendly welcoming staff, good beer, and fantastic freshly cooked food - highly recommended to all. My wife and I, and 2 year old daughter were made to feel most welcome, and were treated to a terrific meal in nice surroundings. We were returning home from a week in the West Country, and had been unable to find a place to eat that came anywhere near this - this brief stop was the culinary highlight of our holiday - thankyou Tipputs!

Date visited: 31/05/2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
I'll give you my opinion of the human race in a nutshell... their heart's in the right place, but their head is a thoroughly inefficient organ. - Somerset Maugham
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Evesham - 1265, Calais Captured and Colonised - 1347, Foundation of the Red Cross - 1870, Britain declares War on Germany - 1914, Super Saturday - 2012
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages