It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Sun Inn, Dent

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Steve Sawyer on 11th January, 2013

Add your review
Went back again to The Sun Inn stayed extra night it just as good, if not better than before. See my previous review to save me wasting ink.

Date visited: 12/09/2012

Review by Steve Sawyer on 13th June, 2012

Add your review
I stayed 3 nights at the Sun Inn and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is a real pub, no juke box, no widescreen t.v. no pool table just a vey nice place to spend time talking and drinking and eating. Although the accomodation and food is basic it is adequate and easily reflected in the prices. I will certainly be going back.

Date visited: 21/05/2012

Review by R Wates on 2nd October, 2010

Add your review
We stayed in a cottage in Dent. The cottage was lovely and the scenery spectacular. We were holidaying with my parents, our 10 month old daughter and our 7 year old German Shepherd Dog. We were pleased to find out that both the Sun Inn and the George and Dragon (the only two pubs in Dent) welcomed children and pets. We dined in the Sun Inn on Sunday afternoon when the place was very busy. The meal was very nice and staff were very pleasant. We said that we would go back for another meal before we returned home. We went back to the Sun Inn on the Friday afternoon as we were going home the following day. We thought ourselves lucky to find a table as the place was packed out. We ordered our food and the meal was nice, however it turned out that the staff and locals were not. Once we had finished our meal my dad decided to have one for the road. By this time the pub had emptied and there was only one member of bar staff, one man alone and an older couple. I have to add that altogether we had spent nearly 60. We were gobsmacked when the barman came over to us and said "I'm sorry but if you don't keep that baby quiet I'm going have to ask you to leave. Its getting ridiculous now we've had to listen to ""him"" making a noise for ages now and it does'nt help when all of you are encourageing ""him"" to be so loud". We couldn't beleive it the only sounds she was making was a bit a excited squealing and giggling. As we protested and told him that we didn't agree with his manner and complaint a local came over and told us that we should not bring children in a public house if they were going to make a noise.We were absolutely disgusted with both of them. They were happy to take our money when the pub was packed and noisy, but because we were they only tourists left in the pub they wanted us out. It spoilt our holiday and made us never want to return to Dent. The Sun Inn staff need to have lessons in customer services!

Date visited: 25th Sept 10 and 1st Oct 10

Review by Lyndal Pip ;) on 22nd December, 2009

Add your review
I have visited the Sun Inn on several occasions after being introduced to the establishment by a good friend of mine. Everyone was instantly welcoming and friendly and I have no complaints whatsoever. The pub, the staff and the locals were all equally as nice and the great food and beer make it a bonus. I find the lady that some commented on being rude was actually quite endearing and even if she does hurry people on with thier money she was very lovely to me and I cant wait to return for another visit! The only problem I could think of is the lack of bus service from where I come from or I'd be able to visit more often!

Date visited: various 08/09

Review by Barry the bus shelter boy on 29th August, 2008

Add your review
I thoroughly enjoyed the Sun Inn in Dent, if you ever travel that way be sure to drop in. The locals made me feel really welcome even though I was wearing wellies. The handpulled ale was so superb that even the sheep were looking like a good prospect at the end of the night. My FULL breakfast was really tasty consisting of egg, bacon, spam, sausage, tomato, spam, black pudding, spam, spam, spam, sliced fried new potatoes, spam, baked beans, spam and mushrooms. If you drive through the village be careful of the bats, they're everywhere, don't tell your companions though because they'll see 'em soon enough. Also, when you've had a few too many and you're locked out of your B&B the bus shelter is a superb place to stay.

Date visited: 28 August 2008

Review by Dr j,r, Bradock on 5th August, 2008

Add your review
Nice pup ,meals basic but nice, the only down side is that bad mannered woman behind the bar, spoiled it for myself my wife and freinds, how can a person like that be allowed to do that work, i would imagine they have lost a lot of trade through her behavior

Date visited: july 2008

Review by andrew pearson on 31st May, 2008

Add your review
Having read previous reviews I had my concerns over the rooms, now having stayed in The Sun I felt it only fair I gave my opinion. The rooms were clean and comfertable although a little noisy whilst bar open. Mine was not ensuit, at this price I would not complain. And this being our third stop on the route I can say it was the best breakfast we had had, and that is a compliment as the other two were excellent. I did not fancy the evening menu so went to the George and Dragon but were too late to eat so returned to the Sun. The food was great I had the Spicy Lamb special with rice, great value and good service. The staff were friendly and the beer was good, although the landlord was did make a very big point of stating he did not sell local beers, bit odd.

Date visited: 29/05/2008

Review by Chris & Di on 6th February, 2008

Add your review
We had not only the landlady but 2 of the locals ganging up on us because I had the audacity to pull my chair slightly in front of the fire (we were freezing having been on the tops and then in the George and Dragon where the heating was broken down!!). We HAD been going to Dent for years, staying on High Laning. However, the fact that we had equal rudeness from the campsite owner has put us off for life!!! We won't be back!!!!

Date visited: January 2008

Review by Steve Bott on 4th February, 2008

Add your review
The Sun Inn is a marvellous establishment for those who love the Dales and everything about the area. The pub is warm, friendly, cosy and inviting with an excellent menu, good, no frills accommodation that doesn't put a massive dent in your pocket. Customers, both locals and visitors are soon friends as the place seems to have that marvelous ability to bring out the best in people, making them relax and open up within minutes of walking into the establishment. The staff are efficient and reasonably friendly and I really enjoy my visits. Long may the Sun shine on in Dent. See you soon folks! Steve Bott

Date visited: Frequent 1980-2008

Review by Adrian Fox on 22nd February, 2006

Add your review
Nice pub but what a shame about the rude lady behind the bar. Not sure if she was the landlady but she is the one that looks like Mrs. Doubtfire. If you don't have the correct change in three nano-seconds she's yelling "Come on, come on". Sign says children welcome, nothing could be further from the truth with this 'lady'. Awful looks as we left,ruined our trip. Put us off Dent which is shame.

Date visited: August '05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The trouble with political jokes is that they get elected - Tim Brooke-Taylor
More Quotes

On this day:
The Seven Years' War Starts - 1756, W.G. Grace Scores his Hundredth Hundred - 1895, Relief of Mafeking - 1900
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages