It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Ramblers Rest,

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by tanya on 26th January, 2011

Add your review
They have put their prices up. Ordered a small glass of house wine and was astounded to find myself charged £4.90. It said £3.80 on the list but this was for a 125ml which they should have given me when I ordered small but didn't - twice- so they have obviously been told to serve the medium unless challenged. Still £4.80 for 175mls is appalling. We were going to have dinner but they have upped the prices and the menu was uninspiring, so we left after spending nearly £20 on 4 drinks.

Date visited: 17/1/11

Review by John P on 6th June, 2010

Add your review
We visited the Ramblers Rest for a family lunch and all concerned opted for one or other of the roasts. The meats themselves proved very good but everything else was mediocre in the extreme. Quantity does not make up for lack of quality! Wines were totally overpriced so we gave them a miss. What annoyed us all intensely was being referred to repeatedly as 'guys'. 'Everything alright for you guys?' What was wrong with 'everyone' instead of 'guys'? I can't help feeling that this is an establishment that has pretensions and the prices of something it isn't. All in all, a disappointing experience that we wont be repeating

Date visited: 6/6/2010

Review by Barry Norton on 14th May, 2010

Add your review
Had a very enjoyable lunch with a group of friends. The food was excellent at a reasonable price. Great atmosphere and decor. All the staff were great. We will be back for sure.

Date visited: 12 May 2010

Review by Judy Page on 1st March, 2010

Add your review
We visited this pub on a cold, rainy day. Our party consisted of 4 adults and 3 children. As the restaurant was full, we were escorted to a huge room, comfortably and aesthetically decorated, with a huge log fire at one end. We sat in front of the log fire on two comfortable leather sofas and our orders were taken. The staff were delightful, cheerful, helpful and lovely to the children. I must compliment the chef on the quality of the food and the generous portions. Excellent. Puddings and coffees were served promptly - new logs were even put on the fire by a very pleasant young man. What a delightful afternoon. We shall certainly go back again.

Date visited: 28/02/10

Review by andrew phelps on 14th February, 2010

Add your review
An inviting pub, log fires, comfy sofas, a good atmosphere all round. Unfortunately the pub is let down by untrained staff, its relly hard to get a drink, the attitude of the bar staff is poor, its almost as if they are doing you a favour. Bottlesare thrown into a bottle bin which makes jump a mile. I visit the bar regularly as its my local but it never improves. I am a real ale drinker but unfortunately have to drink larger as they serve an appaling pint of ale, you have to manage ale, they dont? Well I guess thats chain pubs for you! Some advice, bite the bullit and pay for a decent manager to run the place, you may even make more money....

Date visited: 10/02/2010

Review by Lisa on 4th October, 2009

Add your review
The Ramblers Rest looks lovely and has a great feel. There was nine of us for a family birthday on a Sat eve. It was manic - sadly we were sitting by the kitchen and had hyperactive waiting staff literally running past us every few seconds. It didn't help us relax and how no one was hurt i'll never know. The menu was good, but the quality of food didn't match. Presentation was good but most of it severly lacked seasonsing which affected the flavour. We also ordered a bottle of Rioja and we didn't find out until the bill came that the one we ordered had sold out and so gave us the most expensive wine on the menu. Very poor. Would happily have lunch there again but not an evening meal.

Date visited: Oct 2009

Review by Lanoci on 16th August, 2009

Add your review
After reading reviews we decided to visit the Ramblers Rest as I had heard it had been taken over by new management. The place looks great, much better than before. Service was great too compared to the last time we visited under the old management. The food was good, as it was a Sunday we wanted a Roast only to be told this sells out quick and to get there before 5pm. We ate from the normal menu, the food was nice. Also the specials were really good too. Good choice of food and all seemed really fresh. We will definitely be visiting here again!

Date visited: 16th August 2009

Review by Paul on 19th July, 2009

Add your review
Visited Ramblers Rest with large party of 13 of us, July 2009. Couldnt fault it. Good food, attentive, friendly and well trained staff, who waited just the right amount of time to offer the next course and extra drinks, nice decor and ambience. Despite being a big group with baby, gratuities were at our discretion. I had haddock a chips, but others who had the pork particularly recommended that. Best of all no smelly, aggressive dogs in sight!

Date visited: 18/07/09

Review by Mike on 5th May, 2009

Add your review
Could some dog owner explain to me why they cant chain their dog outside the pub? You wouldn't take them into a food shop or restaurant. Why can't you show some basic understanding of hygiene for the rest of us? They won't die of exposure, dogs have lived outside and in kennels for centuries. Ramblers Rest is a nice, slightly overpriced (gastro)pub.

Date visited: 01/05/09

Review by Andrea on 6th January, 2009

Add your review
Just read the review by Alfie (oct 2008). Well what a joke! He mentions the fact that it is used by dog walkers/sunday walkers of which I am one. I have walked my dog over to the pub from Kingswood on many occasions over the last nine years both with friends during the week, and family on the weekend enjoying a drink and quite often lunch too. On sunday my family and another walked over together (with our family dogs) for lunch. We numbered nine (11 including our four legged family members). We were told that dogs were not really welcome anymore and the small area allowed was already full (not I hasten to add entirely with people with dogs). I question whether the pub can afford to lose patrons in this number on a regular basis as we were most certainly not the only people to be met with this news that day. Maybe the owners need to look outside the window of the pub and ask themselves why the pub is so named?? I realise many people walk without dogs but what about the hundreds that do - where I ask do we lunch now????

Date visited: Jan 4th 2008

Review by Alfie on 28th October, 2008

Add your review
I worked at the Ramblers Rest for five years on and off yes some times the food was'nt brillent but that was because on the company food. The pub its self is a very nice warm and friendly place to work in and go to, I have high hope's for it now as it has been brought by M & B. It is set in a lovely place with fields all around for dog walker and sunday walkers, it also has alot of history to i date back to 1301 and has a gost. Thank you for reading my message And i hope to see you there when they reopen in roughly 6 weeks time. (Can't wait)

Date visited: Worked there

Review by Bruce Wallis on 3rd March, 2008

Add your review
The Ramblers Rest has always been sold as a local gastro pub. The reality is that it is a very disappointing Beefeater disguised as something much more up market. We went there for a mothers day lunch and were terribly disappointed by what was effectively disgusting institutinalised food. Be aware ramblers and sophisticated diners of Banstead and Chipstead, if you are looking for quality well cooked food....this is NOT the place for you!

Date visited: 3rd March 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Happiness is the sublime moment when you get out of your corsets at night - Joyce Grenfell
More Quotes

On this day:
Scotland and France form their 'Auld Alliance' - 1295, Battle of Southwark - 1450, Newton’s Principia Published - 1687, Giant Hailstone Hits Plumstead - 1925, National Health Service established - 1948
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

England:
Bath
Bedfordshire
Berkshire
Bristol
Buckinghamshire
Cambridgeshire
Cheshire
Cleveland/Teesside
Cornwall
County Durham
Cumbria
Derbyshire
Devon
Dorset
Essex
Gloucestershire
Greater Manchester
Hampshire
Herefordshire
Hertfordshire
Kent
Lancashire
Leicestershire
Lincolnshire
London
Merseyside
Norfolk
Northamptonshire
Northumberland
Nottinghamshire
Oxfordshire
Rutland
Shropshire
Somerset
Staffordshire
Suffolk
Surrey
Sussex
Tyne & Wear
Warwickshire
West Midlands
Wiltshire
Worcestershire
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Scotland:
Angus & Dundee
Argyll
Ayrshire & Arran
Borders
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Fife
Glasgow
Grampian
Highlands
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Lanarkshire
Perthshire
Stirlingshire
Western Isles
Wales:
Anglesey
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Ireland
Northern Ireland:
Belfast
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Offshore:
Guernsey
Jersey
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Orkneys
Shetland Isles