It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Paraffin Lamp, Kilmarnock

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jane Mcfadzean on 15th March, 2008

Add your review
Just had lunch at The Canny Man which used to be The Paraffin Lamp in Lugton. Fabulous food - great service, staff happy at work and VERY professional. Food was really lovely - unusual and usual favourites like steak pie (which was mega). I had Woodland Pigeon with Black Pooding on a lentil salad with a red wine jus - really unusual and tasty. My wee girl had fabulous macaroni too. The presentation was excellent too. 4 adults and one child had 3 courses, one drink each and a cup of tea and it was only 85! Very reasonable for the type of food and service. Highly recommend a visit.

Date visited: 15 March 2008

Review by Pauline Mcrae on 31st January, 2008

Add your review
Not been to visit yet. Just thought i would mention to you that i great grandfather owned the paraffin Lamp in Ayrshire. It may not be the same one as I know it was bought over by brewers fayre. Anyway it was the Dorseys that owned it prior to the takeover.

Review by Alex Hale on 29th June, 2007

Add your review
Cracking decor. Excellent food (modern style with a Scottish twist, but at pub prices) Keen staff, quality table service, good wine list and great ambience.

Date visited: 19/06/07

Review by karel kuhler on 2nd June, 2007

Add your review
The Paraffin Lamp will reopen on Friday 15th June 2007 as "the Canny Man" The restaurant has been closed for the last 6 weeks and has had a full refurbisment. A fresh food menu will be served at lunch and dinner time complimented with daily specials. General Manager Fraser Dunn, Head chef Peter Wilson. We would like to welcome all old and new.

Review by Karel Kuhler on 27th February, 2007

Add your review
Did you know that The Paraffin Lamp has been taken over by Piersland Inns (Piersland House Hotel, Troon) The restaurant will be open 7 days a week and will serve a new fresh food menu. A full refurbishment will take place in April/ May 2007. Fraser Dunn, General Manager and Peter Wilson, Head Chef would like to welcome all customers, old and new.

Date visited: February 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Happiness never lays its finger on its pulse. - Adam Smith
More Quotes

On this day:
The Hundred Years War begins - 1337, Ashmolean Museum Opens - 1683, Westminster Bridge Opens - 1862
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages