Manor

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

October 2018: Autumn in the Southern Chilterns

We feel an autumn break should be about embracing the beauty of the season rather than trying to escape it in the search for year-round ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Manor Hotel, Crickhowell

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Jane Frost on 9th March, 2010

Add your review
This hotel has the title for the Worst Family Meal we have Ever had in our family. If it hadn't been so appauuling it would have been funny - although we now look back and laugh. For instance we were glared at for asking for a non-alchoholic beer. 'No call for it' And even now we talk about the carrot portion on the Sunday Meal... three between four people. That is three round SLIVERS of carrot, NOT three portions! Our advice is to take a microscope and a scalpel.

Date visited: 2009

Review by Joel Simpson on 3rd March, 2008

Add your review
My wife and I have just returned from a very disappointing weekend booked for our wedding anniversary. I am so angry about it that I have come on line straight away to write a review... Where do I start ? The room we booked had a lovely view (apart from the skip - see below) and all seemed reasonably well, although come Saturday evening, we realised we were in the room directly above the function room currently hosting a wedding party. We had loud thumping music until midnight. Despite complaining, the best they could offer us was a different room which also above the function room - thus not much help. I complained several times, but never received an apology and it was implied that it was my fault for not seeing that they "do weddings" on their website... After some serious wrangling (culminating in a row with an extremely rude manager at the reception desk), the best they could offer was a measly 30 discount. Further to that, there were several other issues: The jacuzzi, sauna and steam room weren't working The curtains didn't shut in the room One of the lamps in our room was hanging off the wall The TV wasn't tuned in properly The shower had a mind of it's own, either changing temp and/or sliding down the pole (there was no bath too...) The coffee at breakfast was actually instant coffee, but served in a cafetiere - what's the point of that other than duping guests ? The general state of the hotel is shabby and run down (the "spa" in particular) - I don't expect it's a permanent feature, but there was an overflowing skip in the lower car park as part of our view - nice touch! To make matters even worse, the food is grossly over priced considering quality. It tasted like it had come out of the deep freeze and put straight in the deep fat fryer. You'll get a much better meal for (admittedly only slightly) less at the Bear Inn in Crickhowell. I feel exploited and extremely angry that they have no concept of customer service and are quite happy to take my money and then tell me to "get out of the hotel"... To me, this does not seem like a reasonable and sensible way to run a business and certainly no way to treat paying guests I strongly advise you not to stay there!

Date visited: 1/03/08

Review by R.J.Croft FCA on 21st October, 2007

Add your review
Rooms: Booked a room with a view but was given a room with a view of an earthen bank! The Room was very hot. Opened the window to smell cloridin.The Television did not work. On complaining the heat of the bedroom was explained as it was because the room was over the heated swimming pool and the televisions should work as they were new. The receptionist apologised for the room and advised that 25 per night would be deducted from the bill and a new room with not a view of the valley, but over the gardens. The Television in this room was also faulty. Food: Be prepared to queue for your breakfast as the hotel has 22 rooms, but only 10 tables in the dining room. Only had dinner on first night but food overall was OK. Checkout: Receptionist only deducted 10 per night and not the 25 per night as promised with an excuse that the papers had not been charged !! Overall: 2 nights BB and 1 dinner for myself and wife at total cost of approx 300 ( incl Discount !!)- most disappointing.

Date visited: 28th and 29th September 2007

Review by Robert Duffy on 15th October, 2007

Add your review
I went to a wedding here, and thought it was a nice enough hotel in a very good location. The views of the river are really nice, and it's well placed for walking.

Date visited: september 07

Review by Sandra James on 28th August, 2007

Add your review
Pretty nice hotel on the whole. I stayed with my other half for bank holiday weekend, and did lots of sight seeing, and ate lots of good food. Our room was very large, and we had a good view of the river. Had a go in the spa, which is not usually my thing, but it looked fun, so I tried it out, and it was very relaxing. Linen was new, and towls in the spa were fluffy and large. I recommend it, and might go back again, if only for the Roast Beef!

Date visited: 24 August 07

Review by Natasha on 13th July, 2007

Add your review
What a lovely break we enjoyed here. We were very impressed with the whole experience. We are both keen walkers, and are very familiar with the Usk Valley,but seldom have we enjoyed such stunning from our room as we did here.I also feel the hotel should be congratulated on it's policy to provide locally sourced and produced food.Although most of our time was spent walking, we did have some periods of torrential rain. Fortunately the hotel is more than well equipped for such eventualities, and we made use of the lovely sauna and jacuzzi - a real treat for our tired walkers legs!We had no problems with our room, it was large and clean and the staff were always happy to oblige our requests.

Date visited: July 07

Review by jenny on 10th July, 2007

Add your review
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at The Manor hotel. Both the hotel and the surrounding area are outstanding. Clean rooms, which are spacious and very well maintained, friendly (and helpful) staff There's loads of walking to be done in gorgeous landscapes we really worked up an apetite every day, (the food is really special - it is all grown and produed on the local family farm!) I stayed at The Manor with my husband, who is quite fussy about his hotel rooms - but even he couldn't find fault. I will be visiting again, perhaps with my friends later this year.

Date visited: jun 07

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It's not whether you win or lose, it's how many people remember you when you die. - Jonathan Ross
More Quotes

On this day:
Irish Catholic Uprising - 1641, Battle of Trafalgar - 1805, First Women Peers Enter Lords - 1958, 1st British Nuclear Powered Sub launched - 1960, The Aberfan Disaster - 1966
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages