Plough

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

February 2019: Islay

The Queen of the Hebrides takes some getting to but the effort is repaid a hundred-fold, and if you are hitting the island in the ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Plough Inn, Mildenhall

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Bowler on 15th February, 2011

Add your review
If you have a mobile phone switched on (even if it is on silent like mine was) beware - you will be rudely barked at to turn it off or get out. If you dare to complain you will receive a barrage of abuse. Occasionally you will see a positive review, some of which seem to be by the management themselves(see Google Map reviews), but to get a real feel for this place look at the reviews on TripAdvisor, Pubsulike and beer in the evening. You will see that many others seem to have had a similar experience at this place. Supposedly the management has changed recently but I have not seen any evidence of this. The same people still seem to be running the Plough. I'm not sure how this place is still in business.

Date visited: 2009

Review by vjedit on 6th August, 2008

Add your review
Worth a visit if you want to see moody staff, an angry chef and people being kicked out for the weirdest of reasons! It must be noted that on some days none of the above happens, but quite often it does! Like the other pub in the village The Plough is also a Free House, more of a restaurant than a pub though!

Date visited: 05/08/2008

Review by Shelagh on 15th May, 2008

Add your review
We had a really nice meal. the gentleman who served us was pleasant,and we had a lovely evening. The food was plentiful,well presented and delicious. We did book,but given the meal I am not surprised it is necessary!

Date visited: h April.

Review by theana on 30th April, 2008

Add your review
We visited the Plough along with some friends. We had just been on a sponsored walk at west stow. We were tired and looking forward to a hearty meal. We had phoned the previous day,and were told there was no need to book a table. We were greeted by a man with a rather odd abrupt manner who looked us up and down and then stated "You should have booked, we cant accomodate you". His manner was hostile and unpleasant, hardly what one expects in a country pub. There were clearly empty tables, so we could on only assume there was some kind of dress code, but he didnt share this with us. Altogether an unpleasant and disappointing experience. The Plough Icklingham - BEST AVOIDED! "

Date visited: 27/04/2008

Review by Theana on 29th April, 2008

Add your review
We visited the Plough along with some friends. We had just been on a sponsored walk at west stow. We were tired and looking forward to a hearty meal. We had phoned the previous day,and were told there was no need to book a table. We were greeted by a man with a rather odd abrupt manner who looked us up and down and then stated "You should have booked, we cant accomodate you". His manner was hostile and unpleasant, hardly what one expects in a country pub. There were clearly empty tables, so we could on only assume there was some kind of dress code, but he didnt share this with us. Altogether an unpleasant and disappointing experience. The Plough Icklingham - BEST AVOIDED!

Date visited: 27/4/08

Review by Helen Johnson on 20th April, 2008

Add your review
I had read the previous reviews and decided to go anyway despite the negative comments. However, based on our experience I now have no reason to doubt the previous review! Unfortunately we never got to try the food as we left before we even sat down due to the appalling way we were treated. The pub has a no mobile phone policy which I completely agree with, however the manner in which I was asked to turn off my phone was incredibly rude. We will not be returning!

Date visited: 20/04/2008

Review by Joanne Reeder on 27th March, 2008

Add your review
I was mortified whilst dining one evening when the chef came running out of the kitchen and screamed abuse at an elderly couple all because they had asked the waitress for a portion of chips. The couple did not realise their steaks came with spuds and veg, they didnt complain or moan they just simply requested a portion of chips adding to their bill!! I for one will not be returning and nor will any of my friends!! It was unprofessional and very embarassing for everyone in the restaurant. As for the poor couple concerned my heart went out to them and we hope they are ok.

Review by Margaret Barker on 14th March, 2008

Add your review
My friend & I didn't even get to eat here! We'd been for a walk around The Lackford Lakes (our first ever visit) and on the way back decided that The Plough looked like a good place to stop for a quick, light lunch. On entry we looked at the board to see what was on offer, and a very snooty man asked if we would like a table. No smile or welcoming look, even though it was obvious we hadn't been before. We said we just wanted a snack, snadwich or similar, and he said 'I'll see if we have a place for you' There were only a few people eating, so that seemed a very odd thing to say. When he next appeared he was carrying cutlery & serviettes. He stopped to talk to someone, and we decided he didn't want to attend to us, so we left. We will continue to drive past the next time we're in the area. We're from Cambridge, & both of us & our husbands frequently eat out. We have never been treated so ofhandedly before. We'll stick to Cambridge eateries in future.

Date visited: 13/3/08

Review by Mrs Debbie Cotton on 27th January, 2008

Add your review
Fantastic food and friendly service. My husband had a mixed grill and I have never seen such a large plate of meat!

Date visited: 20 Jan 08

Review by Natalie on 4th September, 2007

Add your review
Great pub, great food and very efficient staff. Ate here with three colleagues who all thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Good value meals in an excellent setting. The portions are big so make sure you're hungry when you visit! I would highly recommend this pub.

Date visited: 30/08/07

Review by ALFIE on 2nd August, 2006

Add your review
Excellent venue for a 'gastro' pub meal in a pleasantly renovated environment. Extensive and varied menu selection on a huge blackboard. Well managed with attentive and polite staff.Have a pre supper drink on the patio and soak up the countryside

Review by James on 6th March, 2006

Add your review
Great pub. Not only for feel of place but for the food which is excellent, the service and the locals who are very nice.

Date visited: 03/03/2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Media is just a word that has come to mean bad journalism. - Graham Greene
More Quotes

On this day:
First Steam Locomotive Runs - 1804, Marx publishes The Communist Manifesto - 1848, Battle of Gujarat - 1849, Battle of Verdun Begins - 1916, SS Mendi Sunk off Isle of Wight - 1917
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages