Three

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

December 2018: A West Country Christmas – Dorset in December

Thomas Hardy’s celebration of Christmas in Dorset in his early novel Under the Greenwood Tree is perhaps second only to A Christmas Carol (a version ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Three Horseshoes, Garsington

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by wayne tiller on 26th November, 2012

Add your review
Quite simply the best sunday lunch out I have had in years. cant fault anything service was great food was fantastic the atmosphers was relaxed and informal. will definatly make this a regular haunt.

Date visited: 25th november 2012

Review by Thomas J Hibberd on 21st January, 2010

Add your review
3 Horseshoes, Garsington has re-opened under new management and has just started serving food again. This is a warm, welcoming, homely country pub, located in an idyllic village setting. It is set in spacious rural grounds, with orchard and kiddies play area. The food is excellent, and the menu varied, with something for everyone. I can recommend the Homemade Burgers, Shoulder of Lamb, Bubble and Squeak, Jamaican Bananas and Apple Crumble. And dont miss the Sunday Carvery!!! Definitely somewhere to call into on a cold winters night, to enjoy a pint or two, good food, friendly hospitality and the warmth of an open fire. Can't wait to enjoy a drink and bite to eat outside in the summer either. Whatever you want, food, company, good ale, first class service and a homely ambience. This pub's got it all.

Date visited: 16.01.2010

Review by K Smith on 7th November, 2009

Add your review
This pub is indeed in darkness but am told it is due to re-open towards the end of the year with new owners. Can't wait as this seems such a lovely pub!

Date visited: 7th November 2009

Review by C.Kenny on 1st February, 2009

Add your review
We went for a walk around Garsington then to our dismay found the pub all in darkness - at 12.15 - Saturday lunchtime. So did not get to savour their food!

Date visited: 31st January 2009

Review by Liz Bell on 25th March, 2008

Add your review
FABULOUS FOOD! I would recommend this pub and its food 1000 times over! Fish cakes are to die for, and the leek and pea risotto was the best risotto I've ever tasted! Steak was cooked to perfection and the beef and mushroom pie was packed full of meat, and all for such a reasonable price! The pub itself is quaint but modern, with a relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. Great service - superb all round! And in response to "Duran" on 19th Feb,I experienced no obstacles in reaching the ladies loos - maybe a few less fish and chips and you'd fit in there too!

Date visited: 22/3/8

Review by duran on 19th February, 2008

Add your review
After reading such good reviews on the Three Horseshoes, Garsington, we decided to try it out. Such disappointment. Food was AWFUL. Fish and chips (on the 'specials' board) was unskinned, undercooked and revolting. Accompanying peas were inedible and the chips were limp and soggy. It waxs almost an assault course to use the ladies' toilets as there was JUST enough room to open each door, then it was an extremely tight squeeze to close it again.

Date visited: `9 Feb.2008

Review by Simon Winner on 28th September, 2007

Add your review
Haddock with herb crust & beetroot mash was brillinat & both dishes beautifully presented. Thanks.

Date visited: 20/9/07

Review by Mr & Mrs Welsh on 1st September, 2007

Add your review
Best meal out in years!!

Date visited: 30/8/07

Review by Mr & Mrs Archer - North Yorkshire on 1st September, 2007

Add your review
Service 2nd to none. Really lovely & friendly staff. We came to Oxford for our anniversary weekend & looked up 'places to eat in Oxford' on the internet; having checked reviews we decided to book. We were not disappointed. The food was excellent! My Wife's Haddock & Chips was the best I have ever tasted. Beats 'The Magpies' in Whitby (Rick Stein recommended).

Date visited: 31st August 2007

Review by Angeline Edwardsn - Uxbridge, Middx on 16th August, 2007

Add your review
The best Sunday Roast I have had out. Lovely meat, potatoes very tasty, veg cooked perfectly, apple sauce delicious & service nice & friendly. Will be back very soon! Thank you.

Date visited: 12/8/07

Review by Michael & Mina on 31st July, 2007

Add your review
Truly excellent meal - top quality lamb & beautifully prepared. Great Puddings & really helpful service. Best meal for a long time.

Date visited: 26/7/07

Review by Carole Waechtler on 31st July, 2007

Add your review
Welcome: Very friendly, Table: nicely placed, Ordering: Everything explained very well, Food: Exceeded Expectations & prompt. We welcome very much the allergy mentions on the menu; gives an allergy sufferer confidence!

Date visited: 26/7/07

Review by Neil Smith, Burnham (Bucks) on 11th July, 2007

Add your review
Really enjoyed the ambience! Really enjoyed the food! I like your no smoking policy & you are right on the mark when it comes to customer satisfaction & feedback.

Date visited: 7/7/07

Review by Richard on 22nd May, 2007

Add your review
A truly great meal, with attentive but not annoying service. Came at 2.30pm, greeted with a smile & warm welcome! Great Burger, well priced. We WILL be back.

Date visited: 18/5/07

Review by The Mann Family on 6th April, 2007

Add your review
Most enjoyable meal. One of the nicest pubs in/near Oxford for eating out. Lovely atmosphere, relaxing & friendly service.

Date visited: 4th April 2007

Review by Brian Westbury on 6th March, 2007

Add your review
Will come again very soon!!

Date visited: 4/3/07

Review by Jan Simmons & Ann Beckett on 6th March, 2007

Add your review
2 Perfect Meals. Vegetables with Sea Bass al dente NOT undercooked. Fish pie very enjoyable. Puddings a lovely conclusion. Service excellent. Friendly atmosphere. Many Thanks!

Date visited: 6/3/07

Review by roy on 31st October, 2006

Add your review
sunday lunch AMAZING went with friends on 29/10/06 AMAZING rib of beef and loin of pork superb fresh vegtables and home roasted potatoes womt find another pub like this chef called james he explained beef was cooked rare but was happy to slice and cook more for my freind beef the most tender i have ever eaten AMAZING will be back, puddings home made as well 2 courses 11,95 each well worth a visit

Date visited: 29/10/06

Review by Mr D Sanghera on 24th October, 2006

Add your review
Very Nice Mini Thai Fishcakes. Good Quality. Fish Clean (Cod) with no smell indicating freshness. I like the batter. Good Food in this village pub - certainly comparable to restaurant quality.

Date visited: 10/10/06

Review by Mr & Mrs Curry, Princes Risborough on 9th October, 2006

Add your review
Very Good Beer & Wine - You obviously keep the pipes clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our lunch & will return

Date visited: 27/9/06

Review by Robin Bell on 19th September, 2006

Add your review
The Mussels were superb. A winning combination of ginger, garlic, chilli & cream - wonderful.

Date visited: 9/9/06

Review by J Pearce on 13th June, 2006

Add your review
The Food, staff & service were all excellent. Our meal was exceptional, & we ate outside on a lovely evening in enjoyable & pleasant surroundings.

Review by Su Ryan, Victoria Ryan & Mrs Sparkle! on 29th May, 2006

Add your review
Beautifully presented homemade food, attentive & friendly service, warm & cozy surroundings. How can you improve on that?! Puddings wonderful too - Thank you.

Date visited: 18/5/06

Review by Kevin Young on 12th October, 2005

Add your review
It is a remarkable achievement to have established 'the shoes' as a thriving pub once more in little over 6 months. Ally & Tegs' hard work is certainly paying off to the delight of the customers. Excellent homemade food is guaranteed, as is value for money & the relaxed atmosphere. Definitely well worth a visit.

Date visited: 11th October 05

Review by Rebekah on 28th September, 2005

Add your review
It's brilliant to have a local restaurant that serves such great veggie food - there is lots of choice & no mushroom stroganoff in sight! The food is all homemade & very tasty - the quality of vegetarian food has even tempted my definitely 'non-vegetarian' husband! I'd definitely recommend the sweet potato & pea curry - it's a vegetarian must!!

Date visited: 24th September 05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Corruption is nature's way of restoring our faith in democracy. - Peter Ustinov
More Quotes

On this day:
Henry II Crowned at Westminster Abbey - 1154, Dickens Publishes 'a Christmas Carol' - 1843, BBC World Service Begins - 1932, Penlee Lifeboat Disaster - 1981
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages