Tekels

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Tekels Park Vegetarian Guest House, Camberley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Friend of the Tekels Park Animals on 12th February, 2011

Add your review
It looks like the secret sale of the Tekels Park wildlife sanctuary by the Theosophical Society in England, to a property development company, has gone ahead for a bargain basement price. The real sufferers are the Tekels Park animals who will probably be slaughtered as in the case of the deer and starved to death as in the case of the badgers and other animals. The Theosophical Society in England claims to be a spiritual organisation and to have a concern for animal welfare. For this reason, the sale was kept secret and dicussion of it has been banned at Theosophical Society in England meetings. The sale of Tekels Park was negotiated by the Theosophical Society in England President, Mr Eric McGough of Pentraeth, Anglesey, North Wales. There are many unanswered questions surrounding the sale not only regarding the killing of the Tekels Park animals but also the timing and give away price. Nobody has been able to contact Mr McGough either at his home in Pentraeth or at the Theosophical Society in England headquarters at 50 Gloucester Place, London. The Theosophical Society in England has lost all credibility as a spiritual organisation over the Tekels Park wildlife issue and as a result a large proportion of its members have left. The headquarters of the Theosophical Society that owns the Tekels Park wildlife sanctuary is in Adyar, India (there are several other Theosophical Societies who have no connection with Tekels Park) The International President of the Adyar based Theosophical Society, Radha Burnier, despite being a high profile vegetarian, has agreed with Mr Eric McGough that the organisation should remain silent on the killing of the Tekels Park animals. It is unclear as to whether any of the proceeds from the sale of Tekels Park will be going to the Theosophical Society International Headquarters in Adyar, India.

Date visited: 11/2/11

Review by John Reeves on 7th June, 2010

Add your review
More like a Youth Hostel than a Guest House but the vegetarian menu is important to me. I intended to visit again this month but there have been some pretty horrendous stories surrounding this place. Selling a wildlife sanctuary to a developer is likely to turn Tekels Park into a death camp for animals. I feel it is dishonest to promote a vegetarian Guest House in these circumstances

Date visited: September 2009

Review by Andrew Beesley on 1st March, 2010

Add your review
I have enjoyed many visits to Tekels Park but cannot enjoy another stay knowing that the park is being sold to a developer. The effect on the wildlife will be devastating and it is possible that the deer may be slaughtered as they are not a protected species. The guest house are keeping all this quiet but word is getting out and how can anyone enjoy a stay there against this background.

Date visited: Many

Review by Laura McBrien on 19th August, 2008

Add your review
I came actross this page in passing and note the good reviews. When I stayed I found the staff reminiscent of Fawlty Towers. The girl who "welcomed" us on arrival (Manuel) had a very awkward manner and told us breakfast wouldn't be served until after nine. This information tallied with the that displayed on the sign on the bedroom door. I duly arrived in the dining room next morning at nine as instructed only to be told with breathtaking rudeness by "Basil" that I had been told no such thing and that they had finished serving breakfast. When I expressed disappointment to the staff member on duty the next morning, she smiled soothingly in the best Sybil manner and did not a damn thing about it. Sadly, they didn't seem to have a Polly.

Date visited: September 2006

Review by Anonymous on 3rd May, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Late check in was made very easy with key code. Even though I am not vegetarian, it made a pleasant change to be offered such varied choice of food. Bad Points: I found it difficult to maintain a comfortable room temperature. General review: Exceptional value for money. Good directions to guest house on website. I found the address easily even though I arrived late at night. Very helpful staff provided easy check in arrangement, especially as I arrived outside of normal hours.

Date visited: 2008-05-03

Review by Anonymous on 26th September, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: Staff was really helpful and kind, room was cleaned every day, they let me be working in the library, using internet, for hours. Breakfast was good and tekels park is a perfect situation if you like trees! Bad Points: well, it is a bit far away from the train station if you go walking, but of course it is a price you have to pay if you want to stay in the quiet middle of a nice park!

Date visited: 2007-09-26

Review by Dougald, Sheffield on 9th August, 2006

Add your review
General Review: Good value and a nice location. It had the feel of an old-fashioned conference centre. A very comfortable bed and a good night's sleep!

Date visited: 2006-08-09

Review by Anonymous on 9th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: clean and comfortable, v warm welcome, beautiful grounds Bad Points: distance from shared bathroom/toilet facilities; unclear difference between economy and standard

Date visited: 2006-08-09

Review by Viorica, Bucharest on 12th July, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: The quiet, the cleaning and the environment Bad Points: The room without toilet and shower

Date visited: 2006-07-12

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Make yourself an honest man, and then you may be sure there is one less rascal in the world - Thomas Carlyle
More Quotes

On this day:
Scotland and France form their 'Auld Alliance' - 1295, Battle of Southwark - 1450, Newton’s Principia Published - 1687, Giant Hailstone Hits Plumstead - 1925, National Health Service established - 1948
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages