Ivy

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

March 2020: West Norfolk

Welcome to West Norfolk, a truly special place of unspoilt charm and natural beauty, where tranquillity and relaxation are the order of the day.

Set against ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of Ivy House Freehouse Restaurant, Chalfont St Giles

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mike on 23rd April, 2008

Add your review
For a Friday night it was fairly quiet but we didn't mind that. We had relaxed drink in the bar first whilst we studied the menu. Went through to the table and had a very good meal. Service was also excellent. Prices were also reasonable. I believe this place has recently been renovated and is under new management and they seem to be getting it right. Despite what the other (older) reviews say, the Ivy House is definitely worth a visit now.

Date visited: 18 April 2008

Review by calvin hale on 28th December, 2007

Add your review
Award winning 'Ivy House' ! I have never had such a disappointing time out at a restaurant in all my life. Total rip-off from start to finish. Your better off at mcdonalds. Over-priced, over-hyped and badly managed. Every thing that could go wrong did, this was supposed to be an xmas treat with my family like we do every year but it was more like a nightmare than a treat. My mum ordered the various rustic breads & a selection of oils which turned out to be a bit of brown bread & a bit of white with some butter & olive oil in a pot which the waitress said was compliments so we all ate it thinking my mum's starter was coming out only to find that was it, (trades description act) ! Then came the real joke, after ordering an expensive steak each for me & my dad (mine priced £17.95) it turned up burnt to a crisp when he & I asked for medium. Mine was well done not medium so we sent them both back. Whilst waiting for the new steaks our side dishes of veg (costs extra £2.50 each) turned up 4 x carrot sicks & 2 x small broccoli as we were waiting for the steaks we felt obliged to eat these rationed portions in fear of them getting cold, 3 secs later all the veg was gone & still no steaks ! When the steaks did arrive mine was raw & my dad's was o.k I sent it back again & it returned again not right but I couldn't be bothered to send it back again so ate it. As all this was happening my girlfriends side order of chips turned up 5 mins after she had finished her main meal so that was all ruined as well. My sister's meal eventually turned up when we had all finished our's, what a joke ! This was a comedy of errors & what makes this so unbelievable is that there were only two party's in the whole restaurant-no excuse !! I wonder how this place wins these awards. all I ever read is bad reviews. Do yourself a favour & AVOID this place at all costs as the only thing you'll remember is how much you spent on so little !! Someone ring 'Ramsey's kitchen nightmares'. DISGUSTING !!

Date visited: 24/12/07

Review by david hale on 24th December, 2007

Add your review
my son first told me about the Ivy house after he had been there with his girlfriend & said it was the best steak he had ever had, so i thought i would bare that in mind, because i usually take my family out for an xmas treat. we booked a table for 5 & was really looking forward to it, then it came to the time & with excited apprehension sat down for our treat.What an absolute dissapointment, i was expecting something special because of the ivy,s reputation, but it was rubbish from start to finish. my son had fillet steak, i had sirloin, my steak was burnt around the edges & my sons was pink in the middle, both had to be sent back. my steak mk2 was edible but my sons had to go back again, third time lucky but still not right he had given up so he ate it, both of us not very happy at all, in the mean time the paltry amount of veg that came with the steaks( extra charge ) was getting cold so we ate that on its own. on top of that my sons girlfriends order of chips came after she had finished her meal. the excuse we got was that the chef had been working since 6am, well thats not our fault especially when you are paying top money for a steak.its not as if the place was busy there was only us & one other table occupied, without us asking, the cost of the steaks was taken off the bill, fair enough but thats not the point, the evening was ruined. the Ivy house, your better off at weatherspoons

Date visited: 23/12/07

Review by P.Patrick on 29th October, 2007

Add your review
I had visited the pub firstly for drinks with friends and it had a very warm atmosphere..so we decided to go for a meal,what a dissapointment!!.My starter was supposed to be steamed kink prawns cray fish tails and rocket salad..well no king prawns around jus five normal sized prawns afew cayfish tails and a sprinkle of rocket(surprize)The steak was ok abit chewy but i was awaiting a plate of fresh vegetables not lettuce leaf n half a tomatoe!! the bill was over £70..NEVER AGAIN!!

Date visited: 26-10-2007

Review by adam price on 16th October, 2006

Add your review
I’m always a bit dubious whether winning Awards really means anything, so we were open minded about what to expect from the “National Freehouse of the Year” Ivy House. Our visit started well with a friendly welcome, a lovely glass of Merlot from the extensive wine list and a beautiful pint of London Pride. This was then followed by a superb meal, with my wife choosing from their excellent Gluten Free menu- never seen one of those before. Overall, excellent food, and the best waiter service we have had for years. We will visit again very soon, and next time I think we will spoil ourselves by staying over, so that we can experiment a bit more with the wine list!!!

Date visited: 14/10/06

Review by H on 16th July, 2006

Add your review
We had high hopes of our B + B stay, which were really not met. Room clean but very small and no biscuits with tea. Dinner was reasonable, though frozen chips -pudding was pavlova which was those awful paperlike meringues. At breakfast it got better! (Not!) when we were greeted with "we were not expecting you!" at which we looked bemused until fellow breakfasters pointed out it was another couple who had rung previous eve and requested breakfast as they had had a long journey from up north. This threw the cook completely (an extra 2 people?!) and she was in turmoil at how to cope. Consequently we were not offered juice and had to request cups for our weak tea The final nail came when we were brought a single piece of toast on a tea plate to accompany our uninspiring fry up! We had endured a night of traffic noise disturbed sleep, a frosty greeting and a bill of £165.00...we will NOT return

Date visited: 14/7/06

Review by Carmel on 17th April, 2006

Add your review
This is a pub trying to be a restaurant. They offer an immense choice of food and are not able to provide a good standard as a result. The main courses come with chips which could be from any pub in the country and clearly have been quickly cooked from frozen , while the salad is the standard lettuce and tomato with grated carrot routine. The service was helpful but could not disguise the poor management of the place. It took an hour to get our starters and we waited a further 20 minutes between starter and main. I would recommend that you allow LOTS of time to eat here and don't set your expectations too high. Apparently the chicken nuggets are good.

Date visited: 17/4/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
All the people like us are we, and everyone else is They. - Rudyard Kipling
More Quotes

On this day:
Suffragette dies - throws herself in front of the KIngs Horse - 1913, Marshall Aid Launched - 1947, Noddy’s First Appearance - 1949, John Profumo resigns - 1963
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages