It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Travellers Rest, Edlesborough

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by claire on 14th June, 2011

Add your review
brilliant experiance, staff are very efficiant caring and also a great laught. the food was well pressented and tasted fabulous! would deffinatley recommend to anyone thank you very much for a wounderfull evening

Date visited: 5/5/2011

Review by p,connolly on 6th November, 2010

Add your review
Extremely disappointed with the whole experience. Rump steak was all gristle and totally inedible and sent back.By the time replacement came the rest of our party had eaten their meals. None of the meals ordered were cooked well and they all looked totally unappetising. Replacement steak was much better but we would never eat there again.

Date visited: 06/11/2010

Review by Phil McHugh on 4th August, 2010

Add your review
Service VERY slow. Food of mixed quality. Would not recommend.

Date visited: 01Aug10

Review by Mr Brice on 5th December, 2009

Add your review
Food took for ever to arrive and new customers arrived and got served there dinner 1st, when food arrived was freezing cold

Date visited: 4/12/2009

Review by Richard&Judy on 14th November, 2009

Add your review
A nice place to visit the staff are always at hand to help out and will go the extra mile (now i have writen this review do i get a free drink when i come in next lol

Date visited: 14th nov 2009

Review by Lynn on 27th July, 2009

Add your review
Attend the location at lunch time with approx 20 work colleagues for a leaving do. The food was served all at the same time, with no confusion, meals were hot. Bargin and reasonable prices. staff extremley friendly. Would recommend it to all my friends and will be returning soon with my husband for a meal.

Date visited: 23/07/09

Review by denham on 26th April, 2009

Add your review
waited for 1hour and then received 6 meals which were dry and had vegetables thrown on the plates.The waitress was called and she was polite and apologetic and called the manager,who said this was the new standard size roast.We subsequently contacted customer services of Vintage Inns who apologised and promised a voucher to compensate for ruining a family occassion.5 months have now passed and despite 2 promises of vouchers none have appeared..We have given up now,so if anyone still goes there dont bother to complain as you will be ignored.It would appear that the poor quality of a vintage inn experience extends far beyond the restaurants

Date visited: dec.2008.

Review by peter Callaghan on 22nd June, 2008

Add your review
Our party of eightwent to the Travellers rest and as there were no tables available to seat us all,the staff kindly arranged to put a few tables together so that we could all sit together. Three of our party had Starters which arrived in a relatively short period of time and though we had to wait a little while for our main meals,we expected this as our choices were varied,and when the meals arrived, they were well presented,hot and extremely tasty ! We all enjoyed the food . The service was good and the staff were all friendly and efficient. As it was a celebration meal for the wedding anniversary of our daughter and son in law,we were very pleased with our visit to the Travellers Rest and will ceratinly go there again.

Date visited: 21/6/08

Review by Julie Burton on 25th May, 2008

Add your review
My husband decided to treat us both to an anniversary dinner (18 years) so we decided to go The Travelers Rest. We had been there before and had received reasonable service and food. Anyway, it is close to where we live. On arrival, we ordered drinks and food and sat at a table. It was not particularly busy - we had seen it much busier. My husband had the sirloin steak while I chose meatballs from the specials menu. The food was delicious and the service very good. The waiters/resses were very attentive and courteous. We both finished our meals with desert which was again very good. Overall we were very pleased with our meal. However, when we went up to the bar to pay, we found ourselves standing outside the kitchen door. As the door was opened we were shocked to see how filthy the kitchen was. There were pieces of food and screwed up pieces of paper under the food preparation areas. I have to admit that this did upset us and we would certainly think again before returning to the Travellers Rest purely down to the view of the dirty kitchen. In today's society, with the threat of decease, I think that it is extremely important for such areas to be kept spotless. Especially as the restaurant did not seem to be that busy. Whilst eating, we noticed several parties in the restaurant seemed to be complaining about different aspects of their meals. Although the staff were courteous and apologetic, and even made reductions in their ultimate bills, it is a great pity that this lovely comfy pub should be let down so badly by the kitchen staff and surroundings. Afterall, this is widely known in the area as s 'food pub'. Come on, Travellers Rest, clean the decks, wipe the slate clean and serve up a first class service that will entice your customers to return.

Date visited: 24.05.2008

Review by Lorraine Lewington on 19th January, 2008

Add your review
Our experience started well, the drinks were brought to the table, along with our starters very speedily considering that the restaurant was probably half full. Unfortunately that is where the pleasant experience ended. Forty minutes after our starters had been cleared we were still waiting for our main course, having enquired at the bar as to how long they were likely to be I was told no longer than fifteen minutes. Fifteen minutes later I went to the bar again and made further enquiries. I thought it was strange that when I looked through the porthole window into the kitchen area I could see that the staff were picking food off plates which appeared to contain the very meals that we had ordered. The response of the staff in the kitchen when the waitress went in to enquire as to the whereabouts of our food only confirmed my suspicions that the staff were eating our meals. On returning to me I asked the waitress if this had indeed been the case, she told me that in fact those were the meals of a family with exactly the same order as us who had decided not to wait and had left ... I asked her to be honest with me and she told me that in fact the staff had thought that we had left and this was in fact our food that they were eating. At that point, although the staff told us that our food could be re-cooked in two minutes (!) we decided that enough was enough and asked for the bill so far. There was no manager on duty in the restaurant and the staff were good enough to waive the charges for the starters that we had eaten. An unfortunate experience, however perhaps indicates that when it gets busy you need to be prepared for a wait , a long wait !

Date visited: 19/01/2008

Review by terry on 6th January, 2008

Add your review
Over the last 12 months this pub has sadly declined dispite a new makeover which has livened up the interior . our last visit was disapointing in the shrinking quantaties on your plate. there was at least one change of management in the last few months a big change of staff so i'll be giving it a wide berth for 6 months . used to visit once a week

Date visited: 04/01/2008

Review by Jacqui Caws on 11th May, 2006

Add your review
My husband and I have been visiting this pub for over 3 years. The very young staff are always extremely polite, well dressed and professional. Only once did I have need to make a small complaint and the manager dealt with it promptly and apologetically. Food is always high quality.

Date visited: twice a month

Review by mark morgan on 13th April, 2006

Add your review
No sunday dinners at 6pm when they say thery do them ALL day, many people were dismayed by the same thing, as it was the reason many went there, and distinct lack of service if you were waiting for friends to arrive before ordering. Seemed unwilling to provide water. Nice view and location, just shame about the meals.

Date visited: 4th april 2006

Review by J Brown on 15th January, 2006

Add your review
This pub is our favorite we go there about every other week. Its very friendly, tidy, relaxed and the food is lovely. It can get quite busy at peak times in the evenings, but worth the little wait as the staff cope very well.

Date visited: frequently

Review by Mrs. Harman on 29th October, 2005

Add your review
My friends and I thought the standard had gone down from our previous visits. We ordered cheese cake with raspberry compote. It arrived with two slices of pineapple with no explanation of why it had been changed. I ordered a pot of tea and it arrived in a cracked teapot with no lid. I was told all the lids had been broken! We did not complain at the time as it would have spoilt our evening but were a bit dismayed by this service and will think very seriously about coming again.

Date visited: 28th October 2005

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Honest people don't hide their deeds. - Emily Bronte
More Quotes

On this day:
Captain Kidd Hanged for Piracy - 1701, Whipsnade Zoo Opened - 1931
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages