It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Five Bells, Henlow

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Mrs Karen Goode on 13th December, 2015

Add your review
Warm and friendly establishment. Staff very attentive. The food was lovely,but be warned, you need a good appetite as the portions are generous! Good for a quiet romantic meal for two or a party booking for lots more, all catered for.

Date visited: 8th December 2015

Review by D Paddon on 9th February, 2014

Add your review
Saturday my 69 yr old fiancÚ and I (64) having enjoyed lovely meals before (lunchtimes & weekdays) went again. Ordered Lamb Kashmiri a medium curry. Not medium more like hot curry, mouth burned from spice. Requested yoghurt or coconut to reduce fire of curry. Told did not have any, was offered milk or cream as lactose intolerant declined. Offered replacement meal chose lamb chops. Huge mostly fat and gristle. Greasy fries & like marrow-fat type peas. We asked for the bill. Portly 'manager' brought bill & talked-down-to us, stated he only charged 1st meal not 2nd, & if we ever came back & did this we would be charged both meals. The Five Bells at Henlow has been famous for classy, tasty, lovely service and food & manners, ambiance & quality WAS excellent for many many years. Now the food is from extremely cheap cuts, badly seasoned & management is rude. Goodbye The Five Bells at Henlow.

Date visited: 8 Feb 2014

Review by beth her friend on 24th December, 2007

Add your review
we think that the 5 bells is a great place for all ages. my friend best dinner is scampie and chips.my friend best pudding is icecream strawberry, my best dinner is some things from the spacesls bord. my best pudding is mint icecream. so LUSH we both say. love the the place beth and a friend

Date visited: 24 december

Review by Paige on 30th November, 2007

Add your review
I think this place is fabaroony my fav dinner is the adults roast dinner it is the best ecspesally the yorkshire pudding it fills the plate its so big the yummiest pudding is the chocolate sunday it has chunks of chocolate, chunks of mars bar and malteesers in its very scrummy. GO THERE ITS GREAT the people are so nice!!!!!!!!

Date visited: 30.11.07

Review by Bethany(daughter) on 11th November, 2007

Add your review
well i just love this place. tony (the manager) i'm his daughter. so i would love this place. anyway, i think this place is brill for all age's. we have a play area in the back. it's good for all age's. NOT FOR GROWN UPS. we have old people in the pub. we have family's come to the pub. the staff are really welecomeing to you all the time. thay are really kind. well. hope to see you soon you lot. bethany edwards (daughter)

Date visited: all the time

Review by Judith Robinson on 6th October, 2006

Add your review
I took my California-resident brother and his family to the Five Bells the other night. He ordered the Thai curry. Unfamiliar with English pubs, we discouraged him from choosing an "ethnic" meal from a small village pub, especially since he had previously lived many years in Thailand and spoke fluent Thai. We all enjoyed our meals, but he especially found the Thai curry delicious. "I guess I'll have to raise my opinion of the food that's available in England," he said.

Date visited: 4th Oct 06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Most sets of values would give rise to universes that, although they might be very beautiful, would contain no one able to wonder at that beauty. - Stephen Hawking
More Quotes

On this day:
Captain Kidd Hanged for Piracy - 1701, Whipsnade Zoo Opened - 1931
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages