It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Carpenters Arms Slapton, Slapton

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Tom Armitage on 4th December, 2016

Add your review
Very Sad how this gem has ended up nowadays. Terrible service at the bar,and a lack of beers tbf. We use to frequent as my aunt use to live in the village,unfortunately we will not be rushing back anytime soon. Food was very poor really,an understatement. Avoid at all costs if you have any sense. Regards TA

Date visited: 3rd December 2016

Review by Mr a one on 20th September, 2016

Add your review
Very disappointed no local ales no locally grown foods limited and unimaginative menu. Won't be visiting again

Date visited: 18 Sept 2016

Review by Brian on 19th November, 2015

Add your review
Advertised as open, arranged to meet friends and when turned up the place was closed. Web site out of date, will avoid in future. total waste of time.

Date visited: 19,11,2015

Review by John Doughty on 29th January, 2015

Add your review
Having had Sunday lunch on several occasions during 2014 we booked for Christmas lunch. We were not disappointed as the meal and the service was second to none making the whole experience most enjoyable. We couldn't fault anything and would certainly recommend it to anyone wishing to enjoy a relaxing Christmas lunch with excellent food and drink at a most reasonable price. We look forward to enjoying many more Sunday lunches during 2015.

Date visited: 25/12/2014

Review by david on 8th May, 2012

Add your review
We have been into the Carpenters Arms on several occasions now e.g. for a coffee or a glass of wine, Sunday lunch with our family and more recently an evening meal. Each time we go in we receive a friendly reception and feel able to relax in the small lounge area. Here there are usually papers to read, and in winter, an open fire provides extra comfort. The small restaurant area at the back is equally comfortable. The pub manages to combine a focal point for local people and is just as welcoming to other visitors. It's why we keep going back.

Date visited: 4th May 2012

Review by Janet on 15th February, 2012

Add your review
Just returned from celebrating a family birthday with a meal at the Carpenters Arms. It was steak night and our meal was lovely. I can recommend the rib-eye steak and also the chefs special - Brave Heart. The chips were to die for! The Sticky Toffee Pudding and Spotted Dick with custard were equally good. Staff were friendly and the service was good. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Date visited: 15/02/2012

Review by Liz on 25th June, 2010

Add your review
While on a boating trip we came across this pub and what a fantastic experience. The gaffer and the regulars were EXTREMELY welcoming, the food was fantastic (crispy belly pork, mushroom risotto and pork medallions - all beautifully cooked and presented)and we will be returning. Thank you Richard and the team for making our holiday very very enjoyable.

Date visited: 21/23/24 June 2010

Review by Dave on 14th March, 2008

Add your review
Only having outside toilets a bit of a turn-off especially when you consider you are being charged £30+ per head to eat in the restaurant. Was lead to believe the restaurant area was wheelchair friendly with good access for disabled people. Unfortunately I was misinformed. On a plus side the pub serve up good food.

Date visited: 8th March 2008

Review by J R Woollerton on 9th November, 2007

Add your review
This was my first lunch time visit to sample the food at the Carpenters Arms. Previously I have enjoyed evening meals there with out any complaint whatsoever. In fact, the Chef and staff have been most obliging even to the point of cooking something special without notice for a particularly fussy friend of ours. All without any fuss or bother. Now that IS service. I had to impress a client today, so took him to the Carpenters Arms for lunch. I confess I was expecting a small choice of sandwiches or soup so imagine my surprise when we were given a full and comprehensive menu offering all kinds of delights. The food was pricier than anticipated - albeit cheaper than the evening menu - but what was served us was of good quality, there was plenty of it, it arrived at our table shortly after ordering and was piping hot. Take my advice - if you are looking for somewhere to conduct a business lunch, look no further than the Carpenters Arms.

Date visited: 8th November 2007

Review by derek.bygrave on 6th October, 2007

Add your review
I and my friends have eaten at the Carpenters Arms many times, and found the menu and quality of the food to be excellent. The steak pie is highly recommended, and the fillet steak (scottish beef)is also excellent. The staff are welcoming and friendly. I would recommend a visit to this establishment, evening meals are served Wednesday to Saturday and Sunday lunchtimes. Food is also available weekday lunchtimes Monday to Saturday. D G Bygrave

Date visited: many times

Review by D.G.Bygrave on 5th October, 2007

Add your review
I have read with interest the review by T Hancock,and must write and say how much I disagree with the comments. I have eaten at the Carpenters Arms many times with friends , and have never had cause to complain. I have eaten many different courses from the menu, including fillet Steak,and Beef Stoganoff.Friends have eaten the T Bone Steak.The Steak Pie is definatley worth a try, believe me. The vegetables are fresh, not frozen. As far as the apple pie is concerned I have eaten it, and found it more than adequate. I personally like my table cleared after each course. I have always found the staff friendly and polite I would recommend the Carpenters Arms as a pleasant place to have a meal.

Date visited: many times

Review by T. Hancock on 1st July, 2007

Add your review
The Nicholsonís guide recommending that you need to book in advance, coupled with the prices of this pub/restaurant initially suggested that the quality would be of a very high standard. How very far from the truth this was. My motherís steak was watery, suggesting that it had been frozen, while my fatherís beef stroganoff was very dry and the rice seemed to be of the cheap American quick cook variety. My own tee-bone steak was the most average tasting that Iíve ever eaten. But the final straw was the apple pie for around £4.95, that contained almost no apple whatsoever. When I mentioned this to the waitress she shrugged her shoulders and that was that. My only other comment was that the waitressís only noticeable focus during our meal seemed to be on clearing up our table as if she was trying to get home for something important. The lack of customers, bad service, poor ingredients and over pricing make this place one to avoid. You have been warned!

Date visited: 29/06/2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
The essence of being human is that one does not seek perfection - George Orwell
More Quotes

On this day:
Captain Kidd Hanged for Piracy - 1701, Whipsnade Zoo Opened - 1931
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages