It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

It’s illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Victoria on 26th June, 2017

Add your review
I was looking for a dog friendly campsite, with walks/beach nearby and I thought Mill Farm Country Park was perfect! Only to be very disappointed to be told by the lady on the phone.. they do accept some dogs but won’t accept Marvin,my Staffordshire Bull Terrier!!!!! Needless to say as I write this I am still a little in shock. There was nothing on their website that stated certain breeds were banned, they even ummed and ahhedd about my allowing my Doberman on site - I was told the lady would need to ‘check’. Now I am all for rules/regulations, but this rule was made due to an incident with a staffy.. Now I'm pretty sure the incident was the owners fault and not fault of the BREED of dog? From the information I was provided with it sounded like the dog was already off lead?!? As far as I am aware, dogs off lead are a big NO NO for ALL campsites.. which ensures safety for everyone, including the dogs! Surely this is a much better way of controlling things? Then if people allow their dog off lead, they should be asked to leave… All who know my staffy know he is the softest thing on this earth, he is 11 years old, loves a quiet life and is more likely to lick you to death than bite.. Both my dogs are extremely well behaved.. and if they weren’t, I certainly wouldn’t stress myself out by bringing them along camping! I really cannot express how very disappointed I am that people are still narrow minded and uneducated when it comes to certain dog breeds... Its like saying all people with brown hair will act the same! Ridiculous….. If the campsite is very strong about their conviction of banning certain ‘Breeds’ then they should most certainly state this loud and clear on their actual website.. yet there is NOTHING of the sort.. and I can’t help but wonder why.. maybe because they don’t want people feeling the way I do.. that their poor pooch has been penalised all because of its breed...

Date visited: N/a

Review by Judy on 15th August, 2012

Add your review
Reply from Judy, Mill Farm Country Park to Claire 7th June 2012 Thank you for doing a review on our site. The run up to the Jubilee holiday was not kind to any of us with all the wet weather, but we had mown the area for the tents but were unable to mow the games area. This was rectified as soon as the weather improved. Electric hook ups. We had increased the size of the pitches to accommodate the larger tent as a result you were the first to use that hook up. This has now been rectified. Parking is available outside the reception. Showers are not communal we have 2 in the ladies and 2 in the gents. The hot water may need to be drawn through from the huge tank. All Hot water is free but if power showers were to be installed then a charge would have to be levied. The glass windows you mention are high up. The facilities are kept clean and tidy by regular checks and we receive many comments to that effect. The pot wash is something we can improve on by putting a shelf in, so thank you. Our price for Jubilee was £17.80 for a small tent with electric and 2 people and £19.80 for a large tent, with electric and 2 people. Extra people £1.50 each. No charge for very young children. If anyone is unhappy about something they should call in at the reception as soon as possible and in most cases things can be rectified. Please don’t leave it until you are going home.

Review by Claire on 7th June, 2012

Add your review
Just got back from this campsite and would like to say i would NOT go back again! Its is VERY overpriced for what it is. We were on the tent field, this field is very uneven groud and for the price we paid I would have at least expected cut grass, the grass was very long so kids found it hard to find there ball whilst playing!! Our electric hook up was that far away that our very long hook up lead would not reach!! We were told we could borrow one for a £10 deposit which is fine but why put you on and electric hook up pitch were your(very long) lead wouldnt reach! The reception was out on the road so you had to go onto the fields then walk back to the road to book in as there were no safe place to park as it wasnt far from a sharp bend on a country road! As for the facilities available i wouldnt allow my 6 year old to shower in there and prefered to strip wash her back at our tent! The water in the showers was luke warm and had hardly any pressure. Also above the pathetic excuse for a shower head were plain glass windows and it wasnt even in a locked shower cubical there were just fusty shower curtians so not very Private at all. As for the Pot washing area there is very minimal space as there are 2 sinks stuck next to each other so once you had dried your pots you had nowhere to put them! All in all a very Dated site for the money you pay! Would definatley not recommend this campsite to anyone! Have stayed at much better quality sites for less.

Date visited: 2/06/2012

Review by Tony Wilson on 10th July, 2011

Add your review
A very nice and clean site took my young son who's 3 and found it nice and quiet at that time of year, the pitches are genorous unlike some others that cram in as many as they can. The shower block could do with been bigger ideally 4x more shower can see this a problem at peak times. On the whole id come back the owner is very pleasant & electric hook up at all points on the main field plus a overflow field with ball games in the middle. All it lacks is a little shop selling the essentials & able to freeze cooler packs would be ideal.

Date visited: 8-10 July 2011

Review by Terry Lawrence on 8th July, 2010

Add your review
We have previously stopped here twice and taken our Staffordshire terrier with us, we tried to book in again and Mill Farm has decided that we are no longer welcome as we have a Staffordshire terrier as they have now decided that they do not allow this breed of dogs on site we redeem ourselves responsible pet owners. What narrow minded people they must be.

Review by Marie Rawlings on 21st June, 2009

Add your review
We found the campsite to be lovely and quiet and very clean. Judy (the owner) was extremely pleasant and helpful. The showers were granted basic, but they stopped people wasting valuable water. If they want power showers book into a hotel!! The recycling was great and it was good to see a campsite encouraging environmentally friendly camping. Other campers were very friendly and considerate unlike some of the other reviews. Dealing with Joe Public can be a night mare but Judy does it well. We would certainly revisit if we came to East Yorkshire.

Date visited: 18th June 2009

Review by Jim Crosskell on 27th July, 2008

Add your review
Very pleasant owner who had some "individual" views on how to run a campsite. The site was closely mown and litter free. Pitches where generous in size and the site is lit during the hours of darkness. The showers are the push to operate type, so experienced campers will take a cable tie with them to hold the button in. For the facilities available we thought it was on the pricey side. The local pub served good beer, but we didn't try the food. There are a couple of chip shops at the beach and a post office and general store in Skipsea.

Date visited: 23/07/08

Review by Abigail Hawkins on 16th July, 2008

Add your review
I am there all season. The facilities are very basic and the showers aren't very powwerful but they are clean. It is very expensive for what it is.But the kids are safe and have somewhere to play.The surroundings are very nice with all the main necesseties nearby. It is close to the beach and if you look around there is some very nice walks.I would reccomend the walk to Barmston, walk through the village and there is a saxon burial site nearby and some nice historical features. It is a nice place to stay for a weekend there is plenty to do.

Date visited: 5/7/08

Review by Lucy Cockburn on 29th August, 2006

Add your review
Basic but very clean toilet/shower facilities. However showers very very busy at peak times and an extra cubicle would be ideal.Level pitch. Very good for basic tents but lots of restrictions on 'extras'- no gazebos, pup tents or halogen heaters (due to using too much electricity!!!) We paid extra for electric hook-up and only had 1 electrical appliance (heater) which we were told very firmly not to use. These restrictions were not conveyed at booking.

Date visited: August 2006

Review by Mark Dytor on 26th July, 2006

Add your review
On arrival at our allotted two pitches we had to spend several minutes removing dog faeces. Despite notices requesting that dog owners keep pets on their leads and clean up after them several irresponsible owners still allowed their dogs to roam freely. The weekend was further spoiled by the arrival of a three tent family party who used foul language at the top of their voices into the early hours of Sunday morning. We will not be returning to this site.

Date visited: 21/07/06 - 23/07/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Presteigne - Neither in England nor Wales, simply in Radnorshire - George Borrow
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Fulford - 1066, Executions of Babington Plotters Begin - 1586, Battle of Newbury - 1st - 1643, QE2 Launched - 1967
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages

County Durham
Greater Manchester
Tyne & Wear
West Midlands
East Yorkshire
North Yorkshire
South Yorkshire
West Yorkshire
Angus & Dundee
Ayrshire & Arran
Dumfries & Galloway
Edinburgh & the Lothians
Isle of Islay
Isle of Mull
Isle of Skye
Western Isles
Mid Wales
North Wales
South Wales
West Wales
Northern Ireland:
County Antrim
County Armagh
County Down
County Fermanagh
County Londonderry
County Tyrone
Isle of Man
Isle of Wight
Isles of Scilly
Shetland Isles