It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Wheatsheaf Inn, Symington

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Chloe Brown on 18th April, 2011

Add your review
My husband and I decided to get the babysitter in and have a meal at the Wheatsheaf to celebrate Valentines Day. What a delicious meal and the staff were pleasant, polite and down to earth. To start I had the pan fried scallops with blackpudding in leek and onion cream, which was absolutely delicious. My husband started with cullen skink, well he actually always has it because he says its the best cullen skink in Ayrshire! For my main I had the duck breast with soy, ginger and spring onion which was served on a sizzling platter. Beautifully cooked, just melted in my mouth. Hubbie had beef fillet strips with stirfry veg in sweet chilli sauce again delicious. We both finished with the strawberry pavlova which was an absolute treat. We were also offered a reasonably tasting wine at just 9.99 a bottle in either red, white or rose which i thought was quite a bargain. We would recommend the wheatsheaf to anyone and we did notice they do a reasonable childrens menu offering a meal, drink and dessert for 4.99. We will defo be returning with our clan in the near future!

Date visited: 14/2/11

Review by mrs mitchall on 30th October, 2010

Add your review
wow...what more can i say. my husband and i went to the wheatsheaf with our family and we were all very impressed. food was fantastic,out of this world!my husband had the lambshank,it just fell off the bone.i myself had the seabass and all i can say was mmmm delicious!my daughter is on a gulton free diet,the staff were very attentive to her.best place in ayrshire without a doubt!..defo be back and full recomendations.

Date visited: 29/10/10

Review by A Harris on 20th September, 2010

Add your review
My partner Michael and I have dined at the Wheatsheath for the past 2 weeks.. I had the Haggis , Neeps and Tatties with Drambuie and onion sauce on both occasions.. I thoroughly recommend it..It's out of this world.. My compliments to the chef/s and the staff and lovely .. I will definately be back to dine there...

Date visited: 18/9/10

Review by Georgina on 5th August, 2010

Add your review
After hearing good reviews about this restaurant i decided to take my family there on my birthday. Had an excellent evening from start to finish. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. I had a starter of haggis, neeps and tatties with drambuie and onion sauce. It was to die for!! For my main course i opted for a steak which was absolutely beautiful and cooked to perfection. In short all six of us thouroughly enjoyed the food and atmosphere of the Wheatsheaf and would recommend it to anyone!

Date visited: 20/7/10

Review by dawn hillan on 18th January, 2010

Add your review
we usually head to the wheatsheaf when we fancy and have saved enough money to treat ourselves to a family meal out. never again will we waste our hard earned money in this place. my sarter was cold and tasteless and the main meal the only edible thing was the steak. my daughter had maccaroni which was just pasta with melted cheese and no sauce! my boyfriends meal was also very poor with tastless suace with his pate, and warm, yeswarm colslaw with his main meal. after complaining all we were offered was a "sorry to hear you never enjoyed it". .

Date visited: 16/01/2010

Review by Jim B on 25th September, 2009

Add your review
We visited the Wheatsheaf Inn during the 2009 Seniors. Having heard nothing but good reviews about this place, we had nothin to fear when we decided to eat there. If you're looking for overpriced food that taste like something you'd recieve from a Southern diner, waiting staff with less manners ( and who made you feel like you'd inconvenienced them somehow) and the rudest little madam of a manageress, then i suggest you sado-masochists go for it! Also, if you enjoy hearing swearing from staff within earshot of your expensive tasteless meal, again, I recommend it. All in all, don't waste your hard earned dollars. Ayrshire has plenty of superior dining places, serving superior food for the same price.

Date visited: July 2009

Review by Linda Black on 13th February, 2009

Add your review
The Wheatsheaf is one of the most popular restaurants in Ayrshire. My family and friends regularly frequent it and are never disappointed with the quality of the food or the standard of service from staff. I would recommend it to anyone.

Date visited: numerous

Review by lauran on 27th January, 2008

Add your review
This restaurant is terrible!!! Do not waste your money. The service was shocking, staff were rude! Food was tasteless and overpriced! Staff shouting at each other infront of customers and talking about what they managed to get up to at the weekend. They need to invest in some staff that have manners and can smile! Restaurant was empty and I now know why!!!

Date visited: 27/01/08

Review by Linda Dickson on 20th December, 2007

Add your review
This restaurant is the best place I have ever eaten in. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and very attentive. The food is amazing with a great selection of traditional favourites as well as a range of chef specials for the more adventurous and all are extremely reasonably priced. I would definately recommend the Haggis it is delicious, enjoy.

Date visited: numerous times

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Reverence is fatal to literature. - E M Forster
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Nechtansmere - 0685, Major Earthquake Damages Canterbury Cathedral - 1382, Treaty of Troyes - 1420, Cooper Floors Ali - 1966, Cutty Sark Ablaze - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages