It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Cochrane Inn, Gatehead

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Fiona on 29th January, 2010

Add your review
We have dined at the Cochrane many times in recent years. It is a lovely establishment with a warm cosy atmosphere. It is spotlessly clean and staff are helpful and obliging. The food is quite exceptional....particularly the Cullen Skink! Prices are very reasonable. Lovely evening out and very good value for money.

Date visited: 29th January 2010

Review by Jools on 1st September, 2008

Add your review
We used to go to The Cochrane Inn frequently, however the last three times it has been very poor & we will not go back until it has improved. Service is poor, prices are up significantly, and the food is nowhere near as good as before. The last twice we were there, we were charged for a much dearer wine than we had drunk. On the second occaision the girl at the till did not even seem surprised when told about the overcharging, as though it was a common occurance. I did email Costley & Costley about this & they never even replied!

Date visited: July 2008

Review by TONI MCGUINESS on 5th March, 2008

Add your review
very unhappy with the service we received on our visit to the cochrane. The waitress took our order but did not write it down so when the dinner arrived it was not correct , my lamb chops were still pink when i asked for them to be well done ,my husband ordered chips with his steak pie but they did not come with his meal we told the waiter we had ordered chips but they took 10 minutes to arrive and my husband had nearly finished his meal . We ordered a drink but the waiter came over about 10 minutes later and said what was the drinks that you wanted so it took another 5 to 10 minutes to arrive ! I told the girl at the end i was unhappy to pay for the side order of the chips as they did not come with the meal . I do not think i will return as i dont mind paying 9.25 for a steak pie that is more tomato puree thank steak and gravy if the service is good but on this occassion the service was poor and the full evening very dissapointing !!!

Date visited: 06/03/08

Review by Mr Campbell on 20th August, 2007

Add your review
This is about my sixth visit to this wonderful eating establishment, fantastic food and a very relaxing ambiance. Very amusing wine list descriptions to entertain you while you order, staff friendly without being intrusive....A great place to eat and relax....

Date visited: 18th Aug 2007

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Don't be afraid to take a big step if one is indicated. You can't cross a chasm in two small jumps. - David Lloyd George
More Quotes

On this day:
The English Restoration - Charles II lands on British Soil - 1660, HMS Pinafore Opens - 1878, Celtic win the European Cup - 1967, Tubular Bells released - 1973, Star Wars Opens - 1977, HMS Coventry Sunk - 1982
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages