It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of White Lion Hotel, Ambleside

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by robert bates on 24th June, 2012

Add your review
on advice from Lacet House, we dined at your hotel the first night. The meal was fine, but the loud headbanging music made the experience uncomfortable. We complained to staff, but were told it came from head office, so nothing could be done about it. On our second night we dined at the Queens Hotel, food great, no headbanging music. Robert Australia

Date visited: 12-13.6.12

Review by paul on 30th November, 2009

Add your review
The food at the white lion has gone rapidly down hill and is now simply poor quality ready meals. The portions are tiny and anybody who manages to find a piece of meat in the steak pie should congratulate themselves. My advice is to eat somewhere else if visiting ambleside. The bar is nice its just the gready corporastion behind the food ruining it for the customers

Date visited: 28th November 2009

Review by fiona on 12th September, 2009

Add your review
I was disappointed that even though my meal and my daughter's came with peas when I ordered the seasonal veg as a side dish it was asparagus with peas. I felt that there could have been a bit more imagination used and may be given us carrots instead. otherwise the meals were good Fiona

Date visited: 10.09.09

Review by Brian and Sarah Page on 19th July, 2009

Add your review
This was not our first (fifth in fact) and certainly won't be our last visit to The White Lion. Whether staying for just a night or two, or for a fortnight, as we've just enjoyed, Grahame and his staff (in particular Kate, Paolu and Amy) ensured that our stay was "the best". Nothing was too much trouble - and each and every member of staf was helpful, friendly and accommodating. The breakfasts are amazing (you'll need a very long walk/climb to work it off) and evening meals very good. The only negative is that Mitchell and Butler have recently taken lamb off the evening menu! Other than that, however, no complaints! Having enjoyed the additional space and four poster bed that Room 1 offers, we've now, after several stays settled on Room 6 - a comfortable room with spacious bathroom (with bath & shower over)- and as it's not above the main bar area, is also relatively quite. We've already booked our next stay in the autumn. Can't say better than that ............

Date visited: July 2009

Review by anonymous on 27th November, 2007

Add your review
We have stayed at the white lion numerous times. the rooms are very clean and the manager graham although a man of few words will help you with your booking and anything else wherever possible. However the rest of the staff are really great a mention to rachel as she is always very friendly. The hotel is in a very good location for visiting the surrounding areas and I would recommend it.

Date visited: various dates

Review by a visitor on 28th October, 2007

Add your review
My collegues and i visited this pub for a quiet drink and a bite to eat.After purchasing the drinks one of my friends drinks didnt taste right,so we asked the bar person could it be changed i think it was the bar manager that came along he had the most discusting arrogant attitude i have ever witnessed, feeling very shown up he shouted that we should all leave and he was going to phone other pubs in the area to stop us going in.We are not a party of young people we were all above the age of 40 and respectable people. I have never in my life been told to leave a pub.So i suggest if anybody visits for a quiet drink dont complain because you will get insulted,shown up in front of all the pub and told to leave

Date visited: saturday 26th oct

Review by Martyn Rossiter-Houldsworth on 12th October, 2007

Add your review
This was not my first stay at the Red Lion Hotel and for more than good reason. You will NEVER find a more welcoming and proffesional host & hostess as Mr & Mrs Murray (Grahame & Sharron). Nothing (and I mean nothing) was too much trouble. First time or returning clients are always made to feel very welcome,a sense of belonging. The Assistant manager (Ian) and supporting staff are a true assett,in addition the food is exeptional and the rooms are all individual and outstanding. It should also be mentioned that the house is children,dog and even Granny freindly! I HOPE Bass PLC really recognise and reward A winning team because they are few and far between these days. I cant say enough,if I had the power to grant i.e. an obe for "Services rendered in the hospitality industry" to Grahame & Sharron I would do so, Stay & feel privaledged,as I felt.

Date visited: 10/12/06

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
God is the perfect poet. - Robert Browning
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Adwalton Moor - 1643, The Great Stink at its Worst - 1858, Night of the Long Knives - 1934, German Troops invade Channel Islands - 1940, First Harry Potter Book Published - 1997, Terror Attack on Glasgow Airport - 2007
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages