Inn

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Inn on the Green, Ockley

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Michelle on 3rd November, 2008

Add your review
In a picturesque part of Surrey, The Inn on the Green is a well-run, multi-faceted establishment: it’s a restaurant, a pub and a B & B. This was our fourth visit to the Inn. I have been overwhelmed by the excellent food and service. If you enjoy haute or nouvelle cuisine with a predominantly British flavour, then you will be delighted with the Inn on the Green. Note that the restaurant is at the back of the premises and should be considered as a separate entity from the bar area at the front. At the front you’ll find a traditional village local with banter and revelry no doubt reminiscent of the Inn’s 15th Century origins. We also tested the bar food here and weren’t disappointed. It’s good solid pub grub. But if you’re looking for something a bit special, unhurried and food that satisfies all your senses, the restaurant is the place to go.

Review by Chris on 16th May, 2008

Add your review
You couldn't want more from a Pub, glorious setting overlooking the huge village green, nice secure garden, plenty of parking, and a proper bar with beams and low ceilings and open fire for those chilly nights, and very friendly and attentive staff. As well as being a great pub the Inn also is a fabulous restaurant with very extensive menu catering for all tastes from the traditonal Sunday roasts and Steaks to exotic fish dishes, there really is something for every taste. The restaurant area is away from the bar so is very peaceful and overlooks the garden. There is plenty of room and the presentation of the whole area is perfect. And if you are only after a quick snack the bar menu is just as tempting with exceptional home made burgers and excellent filling pies. And if you wern't feeling hungry when you arrive a lap or two of the village green will soon fix that.

Date visited: 13th May

Review by Lorraine McWilliams on 28th November, 2007

Add your review
My husband and I were delighted to discover this Inn. We arrived unexpectedly early in the morning from Gatwick Airport. Nevertheless, Gwynneth greeted us warmly and made us feel really at home right from the first minute! We were made comfortable by the open fire and we drank excellent coffee while our room was being prepared for us. It was not long before we met Paul too. Nothing was too much trouble and we deeply appreciated all the kindness we received. We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance of the Inn, the excellent freshly cooked food, the great selection of beers and the friendliness of all the staff!

Date visited: 25-27 Nov 2007

Review by Frank & Suzy on 22nd November, 2007

Add your review
After coming here with a business friend and having great friendly service and fast efficent food off their snacks menu, I decided to book a table for my wife and I that evening, being a Friday evening the Green Rooms restauarnt was comfortably full and busy. I went for the fresh home made steak and ale pie, which I must say was amazing, my wife decided to go for the steak of swordfish which to her was incredible. After the meal we sat back and took in the homely feel of the Inn on The Green, and we have now booked for my self and my wife and 6 friends to dine their this coming new years eve. To see the new year in with style.

Date visited: 16 November 2007

Review by Yvette Bekker on 16th October, 2006

Add your review
We are local and new to Ockley. Paul and Gwyneth have been great Landlords, The Inn on the Green being our closest pub. They are always smiling and friendly, showing superb hospitality to all their guests. We try to go at least twice a week for dinner and we have been through the menu a few times both in the bar area and in the "Green Room" restaurant and we have never been disappointed. The portions are great, salads are fresh, the fish is superb and meat tender. To top it all each dish is beautifully presented.

Date visited: Often

Review by Sheila Connor on 2nd July, 2006

Add your review
Just here for dinner.....service was slow (especially when the chef dropped the desserts)but this was of no consequence as we were happily chatting to friends. Food - FABULOUS! and well worth waiting for.

Date visited: 28/06/2006

Review by Ian de Wessington on 15th December, 2005

Add your review
It’s easy to see on first impressions when an establishment takes itself and its customers seriously, and the Inn on the Green is one of these. The restaurant itself has comfortable chairs and tables that give each person room to move. I hate those very small tables where everything and everyone has no room to breathe never mind eat. That is not the case at the Inn on the Green, comfort and space are the first impact here, and a very comfortable waiting area with deep sofa’s and coffee tables so that even waiting to be seated for the meal is done in a warm homely comfort. The standard of the food at the Inn on the Green was actually a lot higher standard than I expected. The menu offers a wide range of favourites, Steaks and Pasta’s, Sausages and Sandwiches, but the chefs special is always worth looking at, and on the day of my visit the special was swordfish, which I always find hard to resist. So for my party it was Swordfish for me, Sausages and creamed Garlic mash for my wife, and our guests had the Penne Pasta Chicken with wild Mushroom sauce, and the club sandwich. I actually cant offer a fault on any of the food, the swordfish, which can be very hard to get right was cooked to perfection and had a glorious taste and texture. My wife was very impressed with the Sausages which I was told were also used on the breakfast menu (They are also a B&B) and our guests really enjoyed their food too, to the point where we have decided to come back next week, even though it is some 30 miles from where we live. The service and the speed of service was excellent, the staff were always handy and made sure that they could be caught with the briefest of eye contact. There was a good selection of wines, both standard wines and fine wines and champagnes. Paul the proprietor was on hand to offer his advice if required. I always like it when the proprietor gets involved and make themselves available. I think that it shows a commitment to the restaurant when owners mingle and offer advice as well as an open ear to listen to what the customer says. Overall an excellent and enjoyable experience. The final bill was more than reasonable for the quality and the service that we received. On the way out we noticed a sign on the wall that read ‘Probably the best food in Surrey’ Our guest’s commented that they could leave the word ‘Probably’ off the sign. So a great success and happy guests for us and very happy customers for The Inn on the Green. An experience to be recommended.

Date visited: 14/15 - 12 -2005

Review by Jim McCarthy on 5th November, 2005

Add your review
Thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Lovely cosy "village inn" feel combined with an excellent menu and wines. The very pleasant and attentive staff made our meal very enjoyable. The sea bass is a must ! I'll book again soon. An unexpected bonus.... a great celtic folk band in the bar afterwards.

Date visited: 28-10-05

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Gentlemen, when the enemy is committed to a mistake we must not interrupt him too soon - Horatio Nelson
More Quotes

On this day:
First English Colonists in North America - 1584, American colonies declare independence - 1776, 1st regular bus service - 1829, Alice in Wonderland Published - 1865, George Michael Crashes into Snappy Snaps - 2010
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages