Embankment

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Embankment Hotel, Bedford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Lisa Smith on 11th August, 2008

Add your review
I have just spent two nights at the Embankment Hotel and found it very enjoyable. The rooms were very comfortable as they are all new beds! And after speaking to the helpful Bev on reception, i discovered that they are having a refurb in January which will definatley establish them as the best in bedford! The food in the main dining area was freshly prepared and everybody wanted more. I have already booked for next month. Many thanks

Date visited: 08/08/08

Review by Michelle Mcgarrell on 30th June, 2008

Add your review
I was very disappointed at the standard of the room,in particular the bathroom which had mildew around the bath. I was also concerned about the fact that every time I used the iron all the lights blew.It didn't instill confidence about the state of the wiring.However I would just like to commend your staff as they were friendly and professional. My son reccomended your establishment after having been there,but I'm afraid I would not be able to recommend your hotel in its current condition

Date visited: 20/06/08

Review by Anonymous on 25th January, 2008

Add your review
Bad Points: decor very dated and looked tired General review: The hotel is ideally located but unfortunately lets itself down with the decor. The breakfast was a bit haphazard as only one member of staff serving with tables not laid and forever having to request things and having to wait. The staff were very friendly and would deal with your request efficiently however. We were only supplied with one bath towel between the two of us. It was clean though and for an overnight stay was acceptable but not if it was for leisure I would have been very disappointed.

Date visited: 2008-01-25

Review by Helen, St. Neots on 30th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: friendly staff, good bar area, good breakfast, character of building, well-appointed rooms. Bad Points: loose toilet seat - inconvenient! only UHT cream in rooms rather than milk - ok for coffee perhaps,but not tea General Review: I wasn't fully aware if the hotel locking at 11pm was a curfew on us - it isn't!

Date visited: 2006-08-30

Review by Jerzy, Lublin on 26th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Excellent location, very nice place Bad Points: Nothing General Review: Location, room rate.

Date visited: 2006-08-26

Review by Anonymous on 21st August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Friendly, pleasant accomodation. Bad Points: nothing.

Date visited: 2006-08-21

Review by Anonymous on 2nd August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Friendly, if slightly distracted, staff. Beautiful building. Clean room. Comfy bed. Nice view if you face the river. Bad Points: Food was below standard, room was shabby and had an extra wardrobe that it did not need and took up space, we did not face the river so view was poor. General Review: This is a nice hotel, but our room really let it down. Possible the ones facing the front of the hotel are nicer, but our room was drab, cramped and had a horrible view. Really a mixed bag.

Date visited: 2006-08-02

Review by Phil on 15th July, 2006

Add your review
Disgraceful..... Fawlty Towers! Decor terrible, food even worse.

Date visited: 14 July 2006

Review by Midge, Bakewell on 14th June, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Comfortable well equipped room Bad Points: No air con/fan General Review: Staff all very helpful and polite. However ordering scrambled/poached eggs for breakfast we did rather expect that they would arrive on toast! In fact food was the only problem. Missing veg with one meal and then, on the final evening, being informed that there was a 1 1/2 hour wait for meals because the chef was so far behind. Only 4 people in the dining room and a few outdoors but he obviously wasn't up to the job. This was at 8.30 in the evening. That very much let the hotel down. The manager was very embarassed and refunded one nights' stay which was very fair of him but the kitchen definitely let him down.

Date visited: 2006-06-14

Review by David & Sue Fulton on 13th March, 2006

Add your review
Very impressive looking hotel, loads of character just taken over by new owners and despite the fact that lots of improvements are underway, the hotel and the staff still managed to offer excellent service. The carvery beef was beautifully cooked and the night was completed when the barman (I think he was called James) changed the TV channel so we could listen to David Gilmour live from the BBC in 2 very comfortable chairs in front of the fire. Couldn't have been better if we had been on our own living room. would definitely return.

Date visited: 11th March 2006

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
It is necessary to relax your muscles when you can. Relaxing your brain is fatal. - Stirling Moss
More Quotes

On this day:
Anne Boleyn Beheaded - 1536, Cromwell Declares England a Commonwealth - 1649, Kew Gardens Opens - 1759, Lawrence of Arabia dies - 1935, Speaker Announces Resignation - 2009
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages