Knife

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Knife & Cleaver, Bedford

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Margaret on 18th March, 2010

Add your review
Me and my family stayed last weekend in the Knife and Cleaver hotel. We had wonderful lunch on the mothers day. The food was amaizing!!!! Everything homemade and delicious! Perhaps just the service was a little be to slow. Anyway, we really enjoyed our staying in the Knife and Cleaver! I would recomend to everybody this quiet and cosy hotel/restaurant.

Date visited: 14/03/2010

Review by mark bray on 24th January, 2010

Add your review
We have used is restaurant in the past and it has always been very good. Last night we had booked as it was my wife's birthday,we had six in our party. When we arrived we found a group of young men at the bar all using the f-word.On one from the staff made any attempt to stop them.There where two young girls running the bar one was more interested in chatting to the young men than serving and the other one could not manage i.e.five attempts to get four drinks.We where not offered the menus we got them ourselves.We had to ask to be shown our table,the service at the table was useless.We had to ask for bread to go with the dips. I ordered fillet steak and 30 minutes later was told there was only t bone or rib eye the t bone i ordered was uneatable as where the chips

Date visited: 23.01.10

Review by Miss Jones on 14th May, 2009

Add your review
The reviews here are just not reflective of the quality here. The food is superb and the service is very friendly. It has a cosy atmosphere and the owners are kind and welcoming. Little titbits were provided whilst we chose our food, and the menu changes according to seasonal availability and what fish was fresh that day. Fantastic! Would recommend to anyone.

Date visited: Regularly - every month or so

Review by katy on 10th October, 2008

Add your review
Straw Bear is on the 10th Jan 09 not long and i can't wait, another saturday of meeting up with the girls at 10am for breakfast then going o every single pub there are about 12 in Whittlesey and drinking till 12ish and by the end be drunk but happy knowing we had another brilliant straw bear! Though for me its not the dancing and th bear itself thats the intrest, its the community getting together high in spirits and drunk on spirits! Every year its been packed out sice i can remember. from when i was a little girl going to watch it with nan, to now going to watch how many dinks we can down with my friends, but the 21 yers iv'e experienced it has made me proud to be whittlesey born and bred strong in the arm but thick in the head ha ha oh well!!

Date visited: 10/10/08

Review by Diner on 23rd September, 2008

Add your review
We took guests here for a celebration meal (at these prices it really ought to be good). When we entered I told a woman behind the bar my name and that we had a reservation. She just stared (we are not of unusual appearance, just reasonably well-presented middle-agers). After some time a man intervened and took over. The meal was not a pleasure - my lasting impression is of things done for effect and of over-pricing. We are quite happy to pay for quality, but here we were definitely paying but were unimpressed. (The best place round here for celebration meals is Paris House, Woburn, in my view, followed by Moreteyne Manor. Sadly, the best place of all, The Strawberry Tree, has closed.)

Date visited: 2007

Review by Mrs Lane on 17th August, 2008

Add your review
The whole family were really disappointed as it was supposed to be a celebration of two birthdays. Poor unfriendly, service. A smile was something they could not manage. Poor quality food, poorly thought out menus and ruined roast potatoes which had been recooked in oil which had been standing for several days. Carrots which had been heated up from the previous day. I had read some of the reviews and was also told how wonderful it was. I would never set foot there again.

Date visited: 17 August 2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Life is made of ever so many partings welded together. - Charles Dickens
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages