School

It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Featured Destination

July 2019: Blackpool and the Lancashire Coast

Itís illumination time in Blackpool. Lancashire in October is not likely to be your choice for a sunshine break, but that is not why ...More
More Uk destinations

Reviews of School House Hotel, Wootton Bassett

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Anonymous on 20th October, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Price, clean, pleasant owner. Bad Points: The hotel is in need of a refurbishment, and would benefit from more customers, it was very quite and had very little "life" about it. The rooms had a "shake & Vac" smell to it. No tea making in room. General review: It was a shame that there were not more people about, you felt you had to wisper as it was so quite. We would not eat dinner there as the prices were quite high. The breakfast was fair value.

Date visited: 2009-10-20

Review by Janet on 14th April, 2009

Add your review
Good Points: Unusual, interesting venue. Free wi-fi Bad Points: Toilet did not flush very well and bathroom door did not lock. Bar was not open during our stay, which is a shame, as have stayed there before and the bar is cosy and full of character. General review: Overall, warm welcome, nice room, good food, lovely views and excellent free wi-fi!

Date visited: 2009-04-14

Review by Nige & Jes on 13th October, 2008

Add your review
Stunning from the outside, Staff, (well the owner) was helpful even though she served the food and worked behind the bar and manned reception!!! Dont know how she would have coped if it had been busy. Inside was a total let down. This place had so much potential 'Old School House' some much could

Date visited: 11/10/08

Review by Philip on 23rd August, 2008

Add your review
Good Points: Staff friendly, accommodating and efficient. Peaceful atmosphere and surroundings. The food was of an exceptionally high standard. Bad Points: Some big gaps between floorboards in dining room (to be expected with an old building) but easy to catch a slim heel in the gap ! Some evidence of damp/paint flaking in the bathroom. Overall nothing drastic. General review: An enjoyable and relaxing stay, would be willing to recommend this hotel to others.

Date visited: 2008-08-23

Review by Anonymous on 26th October, 2007

Add your review
Good Points: The setting and location, nice historical building, easy to reach from the M4, interesting surroundings (south). Bad Points: WiFi didn't extend to room against what was stated on the web, limited choice in breakfast (included), doorlock didn't work properly. General review: Great setting, friendly, professional, knowledgable staff. Price bit steep for the overall experience.

Date visited: 2007-10-26

Review by John, Streatham on 9th August, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Warm welcome, pleasant room with nice view. Very peaceful. The restaurant, although rather expensive was very good. Very good breakfast. General Review: Although we only stayed for one night we found it to be a very pleasant and friendly Hotel. The room was clean and spacious. The building itself was different and interesting. A great base for a Cotswolds visit. The bar and restaurant were expensive but the food was very good. A good menu. We will go back.

Date visited: 2006-08-09

Review by Kurt on 16th May, 2006

Add your review
Close to the motorway, handy for Swindon. Very friendly staff. A later finishing time for breakfast would have been nice, as it was a weekend. Nice breakfast buffet though, plenty of choice. Own transport essential as public transport is virtually non existant.

Date visited: 11 May 206

Review by Anonymous on 29th April, 2006

Add your review
Good Points: Quality accomodation with highly professional attitudes. Fantastic breakfast considering I was expecting small packets of cereal and not much else! Pleasantly surprised. Convenient yet quiet location was also great. Bad Points: Nothing. General Review: Effortless booking and confirmation with invoice emailed following departure. A beautiful building with amazing restaurant set in an old school. Quiet, comfortable rooms with quality furnishings, none of your flat pack bulk furniture here! Welcoming staff with a professional approach made this a fantastic value for money stop over. I stayed in another hotel the following night in Reading and paid twice the price for room only and sub standard service. This one is a gem!

Date visited: 2006-04-29

Review by Christopher

Add your review
"Friendly welcome,excellent service, delicious food,excellent hospitality, comfortable clean room.",Nothing,"The Hotel was perfect for our weekend away. It was only a short drive to The McArthur Glen Outlet Centre, which is only a ten minute walk to the New town. We were made to feel like vip's at dinner the food was excellent, the wine was delicious. Everything was done via email right from booking to paying the invoice, which was completely hassle free brilliant. I would definately stay here again."

Date visited: 26/11/2004

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
Our doubts are traitors and make us lose the good we oft might win by fearing to attempt. - William Shakespeare
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of Shrewsbury - 1403, French Invade Isle of Wight - 1545, First Lordís Test Match - 1884, Lord of the Rings Published - 1954, Man on the Moon - 1969, Tony Blair Elected Labour Leader - 1994
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages