It is important to remember that for every bad review there are probably lots of satisfied customers. These reviews are the comments of individual visitors to Information Britain and have not been authenticated by us. They should not be taken as the views of Crawbar Ltd - publishers of this web site.

Reviews of Paris House Restaurant, Woburn

Best rates for a Local Hotel

Review by Tim on 27th March, 2012

Add your review
Please note that this pharmacy has NOT been sold to any national chain and remains proudly independent.

Date visited: 27/03/2012

Review by elaine on 25th April, 2011

Add your review
JUST SEEN THAT THIS HAS BEEN SOLD TO LLOYDS PHARMACY WHAT A SHAME NO DOUGHT THEY WILL HAVE THERE WRECKING BALL READY IT WILL JUST BE LIKE ANYOTHER LLOYDS TRASH

Date visited: 23/04/2011

Review by Dean Kingston on 20th July, 2010

Add your review
Unfortunaely I have not been able to visit Paris House for he last couple of years following an accident. Today I thought I will take a look and arrange a visit. Looking into opening imes etc.. I came across this review site and started to read. I am so sorry to discover hat Peter sadly passed away. I can say that every visi I ever made to Paris house was a truly remarkable experience Peer was a true master of his trade and was an incredible host. He will be sadly missed and I send my most sincere condoleces to all his friends and family.

Date visited: Numerous

Review by Chris Sheppard on 10th April, 2010

Add your review
We have dined at Paris House in the Chandler era, and this was our first visit since his death. The refurbishment has brightened and opened up the rooms, especially the lounge area, though this needs a little bit more attention as you have to thread your way through the furniture. The welcome was good, as we were spotted on our approach and the door opened for our arrival. The pre drinks and 'nibbles' were OK, though a little unimaginative. We opted for the three course 'a la carte', and while we waited for the starter, the Amuse Bouche were very good, interesting and tasty. My starter of Hot Smoked Salmon was acceptable, and my partner's scallops and black pudding was very good, though another scallop would have been an improvement. We both had the Loin of Venison, which we had been informed was served medium rare, but when received was in fact rare, which did the meat no justice. The venison was served on a bed of cabbage, the flavours of which overpowered the venison markedly. The peppercorn jus and chestnuts complemented the dish. The pre-dessert was rhubarb based, and was well balanced as intended. We both had the Lemon Meringue Pie as dessert, which was not a pie, and could be described as a slight misrepresentation. The lemon curd was very full flavoured, but overall the impression was of over sweetness and inadequate. The wine selection was heavily represented by France, and needs a broader selection from the rest of the world. Wine price range was acceptable. We finished with coffee and petit fours, but we were not asked if we required any liqueurs or more coffee. Service level was good, though we did need to catch the eye of the staff twice to get our wine glasses re-filled, and had to make our own way out with little assistance. Overall, should we compare this restaurant to Gordon Ramsey's in Royal Hospital Road, we would say that it has a long way to go to even get it's first Michelin Star. The service starts well and declines as the evening continues, and the dining room requires some ambience adding, (for example, fresh flowers)and some attention to the lighting, which is too harsh. We felt that it would have been nicer to have had the wine decanted (whatever the price) and an additional item, along the lines of the Amuse Bouche and pre-dessert is required between the starter and main course. Since this meal cost us £59 in rural Bedfordshire and Ramsey costs £90 in central Chelsea, we thought that Ramsey delivers a better experience and better value. However, Bedfordshire has no other competition, so perhaps this is what is really needed to make a difference.

Date visited: 8 April 2010

Review by Phill on 20th March, 2010

Add your review
Peter will always be my Chef! He taught me so much about who I was, am, and still will be! Top Bloke! Northern boy done good 'eye... 1 Bottle Chateau Gloria please... naaa make it 2 and bring the Epoisse lad, yes the really stinky one! I was front of house, bar boy 88-90... Chef, Gail, Nico, Nathalie, the Aussie Plonger... Dave and his amazing "sticky buns!" Good luck to the new team, I'll be sure to drop in the next time i'm in the UK! Mahalo for the Memories Chef!

Date visited: Mid '90's

Review by lofty on 1st March, 2010

Add your review
i worked for peter and his lovely partner gayle, peter was generous too a fault, loved his family, and was passionate about food. Nnow very sadly missed, but will nevr be forgotten.

Review by mr g taylor on 28th February, 2010

Add your review
We have been patrons for many years and have never been dissapointed in the Chandler era.We were really suprised at the lovely re-furb that has taken place under the new management along with the new menu.Had a cracking meal with lovely atentive staff,cant wait to go again.

Date visited: 27-2-2010

Review by Bob Bluffield on 27th August, 2009

Add your review
Peter Chandler's death following a long battle with cancer is a huge loss that will be felt badly by his wide circle of friends and others that knew him as well as to the restaurant trade. I have eaten at Paris House several times (always excellent) and, as a food writer, I have reviewed the restaurant twice for publications. We all know that Peter, at times, had 'his moments' ... perhaps he was a little eccentric at times, but he was a lovely and generous man who was much loved by those of us who regarded him as a great friend. I moved my pre-Christmas party for friends and family to Paris House and about 12 of used the upstairs private dining room and the food and service was always exceptionally good. Later in the evening Peter would come by and entertain my guests with his interesting enecdotes and jokes. He will be greatly missed and my thoughts at this sad time extend to Gail, his former wife Liz, family and brigade of young chefs. I am certain that the exceptional chef's that Peter has trained will continue creating fine food as a legacy to one of Britain's finest chefs.

Date visited: various

Review by lee stannard on 26th August, 2009

Add your review
7 years ago my wife and I had an amazing meal at the Paris House. I had planned the evening in order to propose to my wife and thankfully she accepted. The evening was obviously one we will never forget, but not only because it was our engagement dinner. We expected the food to be fabulous, and we were not disappointed, what we were not prepared for was the time that we got to spend with Peter. He came out before dessert to congratulate us and impressed us with his humble, witty manner. He paid for, and shared champagne with us and put the icing on a memorable evening. My only regret is that we will not get to repeat the experience now that he has moved on to greener pastures. Thank you Peter. Lee and Natalie Stannard.

Date visited: 7 years ago

Review by Tony Peirson on 23rd August, 2009

Add your review
Four of us dined at Paris House Sat.22/08/09. A few days after Peter Chandler passed away. The young chefs trained by him did a brilliant service. The meal was superb, and the deserts especially the souffle's were world class. The restaurant was packed full and there was agreat atmosphere. The staff are doing Peter proud. Good luck to them all.

Date visited: 22/08/09

Review by Simon on 17th August, 2009

Add your review
Peter Chandler the brilliant head chef sadly passed away on Monday 10th August. R.I.P

Date visited: Aug 1st 2009

Review by lofty on 16th August, 2009

Add your review
it is now very sad to here that peter has now died,i worked there over 15 years ago, and although i left i still had have respect for the man he was, his food was suoperb. Did any of the critcs on this bored realise that the vennison was shot and hung on site, veg was fresh out of the garden, i once walked off of the job cos i got the 'ump, he chased me up the road in his car, his wife Gail an all round briliant young lady who stood by him thick and thin. his ex-wife was also there to make sure the children were looked after, did his accounts and looked out for the staffs well being. HeHe was always there for others, he never let us down.

Date visited: i worked there

Review by Richard Aish on 31st July, 2009

Add your review
We visited Paris House as a group of 6 for a Saturday lunch to celebrate my wifes birthday in April 2009. The surroundings are beautiful it has to be said. However, unfortunately the atmosphere was lacking and the pre-dinner drinks were served in a room which best resembled a waiting room? Considering how quiet the restaurant was, the service was very slow and the waitress lacked both confidence and knowledge. The food was ok but there was something missing from the whole dining experience and there seemed to be zero atmosphere, which was a real shame because the restaurant has so much potential. Our bill could be compared to that of somewhere like Claridges and we all felt that for the experience we received this was far from good value.......in fact my wife was so embarrassed that she felt compelled to pay the whole bill herself!!

Date visited: April 2009

Review by Jeremy Buckman on 3rd May, 2009

Add your review
We'd been taken to the Paris House several times, two decades ago; it was good then and I'm pleased to say it is good now. I discovered this website just a few hours before we were due to revisit the Paris House and my heart dropped when I read worst of the (now well out of date)reviews. Thankfully, their predictions were not fulfilled and Ann has spent the weekend congratulating my wonderful choice of venue for her birthday dinner! The staff were friendly and we were well looked after before and during our meal, even though the restaurant was full. We ate from the a la carte menue and couldn't fault the quality of the food nor the presentation. So don't be put off; in our opinion the Paris House is a good value experience!

Date visited: 01.05.09

Review by dave hutchings on 25th April, 2009

Add your review
i have only been to paris house once. but i found the food the best i have ever had and the staff where very good .when i get the chance i will go back again and would recommend to all

Date visited: 205

Review by Steve Wilkinson on 4th November, 2008

Add your review
My wife and I are scouring the country to find a restaurant that can replace Rules in Covent Garden as our favourite place to eat. It had been to suggested by friends that live locally to Woburn that the Paris House had a superb reputation locally. Our immediate impression was not favourable. The reception area is small, but with a large party waiting to spring a surprise on one of their friends it was noisy and exceptionally cramped. We felt like we had garecrashed a private party. After having said that a waitress went out of her way to find us a small table and brought the drinks. The table was right in the middle of the excitable gathering and we had to shout above the din to make ourselves heard. Eventually peace descended when the party, complete with the surprised looking seriously unimpressed were taken to the upstairs dining room. So to the food. After much deliberation I went for the fish soup. The reason for the procrastination was that I am so often disappointed with this choice. Whether it be a weak stock, or over-cooked fish or over seasoning or one one disastourous ocassion a combination of all three it often fails to meet my expections. Congratulations Paris House the Fish soup was outstanding. The problem was then always going to be matching the standard set. A task that was to prove too great for the kitchan. My wife had the scallops and found that the gratin completely overwhelmed the delicate seafood. I had the Rack of Lamb for my main course and it was cooked perfectly, but I worry about the lamb itself. It had a waek taste and was disappointing. The same can be said for my wife's Fillet of Beef. In general the meat was disappointing which points to a problem with sourcing it rather than the cooking of it. My chocolate torte desert was adequate but not toe curlingly rich. My wife waxed lyrical over the Rasberry Souffle, which she declared was the best she had ever eaten, claiming that she would not have been able to produce one as light. Praise indeed. The service was excellent, as was the wine, but as far as value for money goes The Paris House is overcharging. For £60.00 each for 3 courses one expects better than just 2 outstanding dishes. In the summer months with drinks on the patio and views of the Woburn Abbey it may well be worth a little extra for its ambiance but on a cold and very wet November evening it did little to lift the spirits. So Rules still rules

Date visited: 02/11/2008

- Write a Review

Brit Quote:
At the side of the everlasting why, is a yes, and a yes, and a yes. - E M Forster
More Quotes

On this day:
Battle of St Albans - Wars of the Roses starts - 1455, James Iís Bargain Baronets - 1611, Littleportís Bread or Blood Riot Begins - 1816, Britains worst Rail Disaster - 1915, Burgess and Maclean Defect - 1951, Abbeystead Disaster - 1984, Murder of Lee Rigby - 2013
More dates from British history

click here to view all the British counties

County Pages